Dow[N U]nder


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
July 18th 2016
Published: July 18th 2016
Edit Blog Post

First off, I'd like to apologize for my lame excuse at a Northeastern University pun in my title. Sorry, I tried (Husky pride!!!).

Anyways.

Here I am on my first full day in Sydney, Australia. 18 years old, 10,000 miles and 20 hours worth of plane rides from home. Clearly, I am out of my element. For a girl who has limited oven privileges at home and is incapable of doing a load of laundry, these people (my parents, NU administration, anyone who thought this was a good idea) seems to have put a little too much trust in me.

Ok, I'm being dramatic. Of course this is an amazing, once in a lifetime, superb opportunity. One for which I am incredibly grateful to have. Especially because this is the first time I've been this far from home, first time I am traveling without any of my immediate friends, and also my first time experiencing college life (wow).

Currently, it is Monday evening, about 6:15. My journey began Friday, when I left Logan Airport in Boston (after a two hour flight delay and many many tears). My boyfriend and I shared a lovely tear-filled goodbye (all of the tears came from yours truly) outside of security in front of Legal C Bar, from which he contracted food poisoning after our lunch there. Next came the hugs and tears shared with mom, dad and grandparents, and then I was off. After what seemed like the longest flight of my life (little did I know what was coming), I touched down in LA to wait through yet another flight delay before embarking to Sydney. I boarded my plane in LA around 1 AM local time, and apparently fell asleep before we even took off (thanks, Zzz-Quil!). Sleeping for 12 of the 15 hours I spent on that plane, I woke up feeling refreshed, cramped and almost in Sydney.

Next came the usual airport to-dos: customs; searching for baggage; wrestling with said baggage; boarding a coach bus and finally reaching my quaint little home on Wattle Street. At this moment, I'm sitting on a couch in our living area with the 6 other girls I share this apartment with. Our apartment is comprised of four bedrooms (two to a room), a bathroom in each bedroom, and a communal kitchen and living area. I took it upon myself to immediately make my half of the room feel as homey has possible, to combat my intense homesickness. I took to the mall, found a Kmart, and bought some clothespins, yarn and thumbtacks. I, using the one creative bone I have in my body, hung up some pictures from home from the yarn, held up with clothespins. I was proud of my handiwork, and my single bed, desk and closet are now starting to feel like a home away from home... or at least they will, once I lose the urge to cry every time I think of my friends, family and boyfriend back home (if my mom is reading this, THEY ARE HAPPY TEARS MOM I PROMISE).

My jet lag and the fact that I have been awake since 3 AM are pushing me to go to bed, but we have a group meeting at 7 o'clock. The danger of me falling asleep during said meeting is very real, but (hopefully) I'll push through.



Well that's all I've got for now! Definitely more to come in the future.

Advertisement



18th July 2016

Great Job. Sounds great. Off to a good start. Love it. Love you

Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0755s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb