Week 2- Sydney - Byron Bay


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
September 2nd 2014
Published: September 12th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Week 2 started with taking my cousin Robin to the airport for his big move to LA. Then there was more rain and another shopping centre visit! The following day was sunny so I went for my first run in Australia- there was a lot of hills and I was seriously unfit! In the evening my Uncle Trevor picked me up and we went to watch my little cousin, Chris play football, then back to his mums house for dinner. The next night Trevor and Chris came round my Aunts for dinner and we watched the rugby.

On the Saturday I decided to go back to Sydney centre and book into a hostel as the weather was meant to be nice. Trevor drove me to town and I booked into Wake up! Hostel. My room was an 8 bed mixed dorm - so my Uncle decided to drop me off to my room to check there weren't any 'weirdos' which thankfully there weren't. Once he left I went and met up with my friend Laura from home who was over on holiday and we had a catch up. After she left me I had a weird realisation that I was alone in a city on the other side of the world from everyone- which was even stranger when I had to sit and have dinner on my own 😞 when I got back to my hostel there were more people in my dorm (6 boys and 1 other girl, Ellie) so we all got chatting and decided to go out that night to The Golden Sheaf, which was a really good bar.

Sunday started majorly hungover, fortunately no one else in the dorm was an early riser so I slept in till about 12. Then my cousin Shane and his girlfriend Heather picked me up and we went to Coogee Beach. We went for a nice walk and then got some Fish and chips by the sea. On the way home we stopped off for some ice cream before they dropped me back at my hostel. That night me and Ellie went to the bar with some other girls we met the night before and had a couple of drinks.

The Monday morning I had to check out at 10 so I had a pretty early start for me. I didn't really know where to go so I just started wandering around and I ended up at The Botanical Gardens. I went for a walk round there and found a nice place to have a sunbathe for an hour (apparently it's an English thing to just sunbathe in parks because Heather laughed when I told her.) Then I went to the opera house to have a look...it definitely looks better from further away!!! From there I could see the Harbour Bridge so I decided to walk towards it. On my way I ended up in an area called 'the rocks' where I found a museum called The Rocks Discovery Museum which was all about the establishment of the English colony, it was a small museum but interesting! Then after a veryyyyy long walk I found my way to the bridge and walked across to the other side. When I got there Tom (Robins friend who just moved over from England) text and suggested meeting for some drinks so I walked all the way to Surry Hills, back near my hostel which was a bit of a walk. We had a couple of cocktails in a restaurant - some really nice strawberry daiquiris. Then I went to meet Matt- who I had gone to primary school with for a couple of drinks and a catch up! As we left a ridiculous storm started so Shane came to pick me up from my Hostel so I could stay at his and be nearer the airport for the next day.

On the Tuesday I got my flight to Byron Bay to meet Emily and Alex who I'm travelling with for the next few months! I was superrrr excited and I got to our hostel-Arts Factory- and had an emotional reunion with Emily- she shed a tear :p We went and grabbed some food and then they showed me the beach. Then we went back and got ready to go out, we went to a bar called Woody's.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1085s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb