Week 1 -Sydney!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
August 19th 2014
Published: August 24th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So the time finally came to leave England and after not a lot of planning I was on my way with Singapore airlines!

The first part of the flight was A-mazing! Unlimited free vodka and ice cream... and a potato based dinner meant it was a happy flight, plus several Disney films! I then got lost in Singapore airport for a while... realising after about an hour that I was in the wrong terminal (oops!) which would explain why I couldn't find my flight anywhere 😊 Once in the right place I managed to find a FREE!!!! massage chair, which I sat on for the next hour until my flight.

The next flight started well, more free ice cream and some cheese... I was blissfully happy until dinner when I heard the options 'potato and chicken or rice and fish' ... obviously I knew my choice until the man in front took the LAST potato and chicken :/ So I slept the rest of the flight after this sad news! After landing, getting through customs was a breeze and my bag came no problems and I managed to find my cousin Shane. Went for dinner with him and Heather and then went to my other cousins, Robin, to stay and slept for at least 12 hours.

The next day we went for a lovely sunny walk along the beach from Bondi, grabbing some breakfast whilst looking out at the sand and sea- winter in Sydney wasn't looking too bad so far, in fact I think I was getting sunburnt! Then we went home and got ready to go out for some drinks with his friends, getting a boat across to the city, passing Sydney Opera House and the bridge on the way! Went to a bar called the Soda factory and had lots of drinks 😊

Day 3 didn't start until about 1... when I FINALLY woke up after Robin learnt that I am a very deep sleeper ( he left the house keys in case I woke up and knocked/ buzzed for about 20 minutes (apparently) before considering breaking into his own house to check I was ok- fortunately I heard the last knock!) Went for another fancy lunch in a 'ladies who lunch' sort of place and had a look around some shops. Then I had a night in watching some rubbish films ...I think jet lag was taking its toll!

Day 4 was a busy day and it started with a trip out on Robin's friend Tim's boat! We went all around Sydney harbour to lots of different bays etc It was really nice to see so much and in a way that not many people get a chance to... we ended up trying to race back before the massive storm cloud above hit, which we just about managed! Then Robin and I went home, got changed and went out for his leaving party (before he jets off to LA!) Had a good night meeting lots of new people before ending up in an interesting karaoke place- very odd films playing whilst singing is all I'll say!

Day 5-7 so day 5 involved a hangover and helping Robin get ready to move out of his flat and a nice family dinner in Carlingford with all my cousins and Aunt, Uncle etc. Then I stayed the next few days at my Aunties, going shopping and trying to sort out phones and other such jobs. The weather is now much more 'winter' and the rain is trying to rival England's weather- floods and trees falling down nearby! So it looks like the shorts and vest tops will be away for another few weeks yet!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb