Fateful trip of chance encounters and farewells!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
June 28th 2014
Published: July 2nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

When I had got my June roster in May I wrote to my two friends from back home, Saara and Raonaid, who I usually meet when I go to Sydney to tell them I was coming back over at the end of June. Raonaid replied stating that she hoped it was on the last weekend of the month as that would be her last weekend in Sydney after three years here as she is off to New Zealand. And lone behold that was the weekend I was due to arrive. So perfect, like fate. So arrived early morning again and had a sleep til early afternoon. I was meant to go out earlier to meet Saara for a walk but we both slept too late. Once I left the hotel I quickly popped over to Paddys Market for couple bits (has a bit of everything in here) and straight away I seen a guy, called Graham who is from Brighton, that I had lived with almost four years ago when I was travelling here and living in the Pink House Hostel. Could not believe it! He had left Australia before me last time and is now back again. Fate yet again. So surreal how can come to the other side of the world and meet people that you know. Was so nice. I then walked to Darling Harbour and along George Street towards Circular Quay. Was really warm and sunny, quite surprised as had heard that it had been quite cold here recently. Darling Harbour had a little mini winter festival going on with an ice rink which was cool. Apparently Bondi Beach has an ice rink too for couple weeks. I had a wander to the area called the Rocks, which is quite quirky little bit of the city. There was a food and wine fair on, got an amazing chicken tikka wrap! Then went and got the ferry over to Manly. As soon as I got there the weather just flipped. Absolutely wild! Felt like a tornado was coming in. Raonaid was at the Wharf Bar waiting for me. We sat outside initially then had to retreat indoors due to the crazy weather. Was really busy, nice being here for a weekend. Had a beer - I had gone to the bar and ordered two Coronas, but the barmaid gave me two Coopers. Obviously didn't have a clue what I was saying due to to my Scottish accent, I should come with subtitles. Still a beer though so all good. Saara then came and joined us. We went to a cosy little bar restaurant for some cocktails and pizza. Really regretted only wearing a little cardigan, boltic outside. The next bar was so nice, sat outside in the garden area with some heaters on. Got on the espresso martinis - totally sorted me out and woke me up from my jet lag. And we shared couple pizzas which were amazing. Chatted away for a couple hours, always so much going on with us lot. Love these visits. Then Saara had to go to work at half 6, she has a new bar job at the Steyne in Manly which is handy as she lives round the corner. Said our goodbyes then me and Raonaid had another cocktail, hit the bottle shop and Coles for some mixers then got taxi to where she stays at Dee Why. Was such a hoot of a night; had few drinks and what not, and played Singstar on the Playstation. So excited for Raonaid heading off on her new adventures - she has a holiday to California for couple weeks then onto New Zealand for a year. Been great getting to see her on my visits to Sydney and perfect that I was here for her last weekend. I got bus back to hotel in the early hours of the morning, took what felt like ages! Glad when I got back to get some warmth. Then literally stayed in my bed until I had to leave the next afternoon.

Hopefully get back to Sydney again some day, I do love the place so much!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0859s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb