Australia: A Few of My Favourite Things


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
February 21st 2014
Published: February 21st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Inspired by this blog a friend showed me, titled 50 Best Things to Come Out of Australia http://blog.hostelbookers.com/destinations/50-best-australia/, I thought I would make my own semi-serious little list about what I love about Australia, in particular Sydney, especially considering I whinge about it a lot perhaps unfairly:

<li style="text-align: left;">Diversity. There’s a lot of different cultures here. I know that many people feel there’s large room for improvement in our multiculturalism, but overall most people are pretty accepting. I say that as a white male but that’s my experience.

<li style="text-align: left;">Animals. I shouldn’t take the awesome little guys like koalas and kangaroos and kookaburras for granted.

<li style="text-align: left;">Cleanliness. Compared to other cities I’ve been, even New York, Sydney just feels clean to the point of pristine. The water is clean, the air is clean, the food is clean. Maybe I was just in Asian metropolises for too long, but coming back to Sydney just feels clean as fuck.

<li style="text-align: left;">Indigenous culture. I know there is massive work to be done, but there’s a strong spirituality found in Indigenous tradition.

<li style="text-align: left;">Uluru and the Northern Territory in general. Every Australian and visitor to Australia should go there, simple as that. One of the most magical places I’ve been to. See Indigenous culture, above.

<li style="text-align: left;">Beaches scattered amongst the cities with surfing waves. Not that I surf. But just jumping in and battling the waves is cool enough

<li style="text-align: left;">Art. I have long criticized Australian culture of being anti-intellectual and anti-art, and I stick by that to an extent, but there is stuff out there if you look for it. We may not be an artist’s haven, but we’re not barren of artsy stuff either and actually have some really cool events, venues and artists if you look in the right places or know the right people.


<li style="text-align: left;">Wages, currency and job conditions. It just seems that our wages are disproportionately high relative to other countries. Yes we have a very high cost of living, arguably in the top three in the world, but notwithstanding the wages are still high. Generally speaking, any full-time job at all will give you a good quality of life.

<li style="text-align: left;">Weather. This is one of the main reasons visitors talk us up, along with the beaches and outdoors. We’ve got the beaches, but we’ve also got the climate to enjoy them. Sunny blue skies are the norm.

<li style="text-align: left;">Food and coffee. We have a great lot of options and diversity, and there’s a really strong market for top quality cuisine which drives the standards right up there. I’m no foodie but I know plenty who revel in what we have on offer.

<li style="text-align: left;">Wines. I am immensely proud of our wines and believe strongly that they aim up to any international region, including France and USA. A quality Barossa Shiraz is something to behold, and there are many others we do at top quality also.

<li style="text-align: left;">Melbourne. A special mention for me to one of my favourite cities in the world. Arty. Cool.

<li style="text-align: left;">Sydney Harbour. Is there anything currently more iconic of the “good life” than the panoramic view of Sydney Opera House and Harbour Bridge? A harbor sail is a must-do for any visitor or resident.

<li style="text-align: left;">All the musicians, novelists and other artists that call Australia home (mostly musicians, excuse my bias): The Cat Empire, Boy & Bear, INXS , Brett Whiteley, Gotye, Tim Winton, Nick Cave, The Whitlams, Augie March.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb