Last days in Sydney (for now)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
April 26th 2005
Published: April 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I booked a bus to go to Melbourne on Thursday, so I was supposed to still have here a few days. So I continued to take things really slowly. But the last night I found a partner to go to Melbourne by car, traveling to some nice places on the way. The only thing was, he wanted to go today! So we settled for tomorrow… and I really hope he’s going to be a good partner, and we’re going to have nice time on the way (which is planned to take like 3-4 days, because we have lots of things to visit on the way).
Yesterday was ANZAC day here. ANZAC is Australia New Zealand Army Corpse and it’s actually a memorial day for the Australian soldiers that apparently participated in quite many wars. Did you know they were in Vietnam? I thought that was an American game only. They do two things to commemorate their dead and praise the veterans: the have a parade (I watched for a while. I mainly liked the Scottish units and their nice uniform), and they drink beer from the morning. I am not kidding, they drink everywhere. And they have a stupid gambling game they play in all the pubs (in fact the streets become pubs everywhere).
After watching that for a while I took the ferry to Manly beach. It’s highly recommended but I think the beach in Bondi was nicer. However the ferry ride crosses the entire harbour and you see nice views. One way I took the JetCat that is twice as fast, so it’s fun but you can’t take pictures, so I came back with the ferry and took a few more pictures of the opera house…
In the evening I went with all my roommates to the Rocks and Circular Quay - it’s not so comfortable to go there alone at night so I was happy to go with them. Finally I added also a night picture to my set on the opera house :-)

Today I took a wine tasting tour in the Hunter Vally. It’s a huge wine area (The Rosemount Estate wines that we have in Israel are from there). I was pretty disappointed from the wines, I didn’t like most of them. But I did enjoy the day out, the weather was great. I wish it will stay like that the whole week.

Now I need to make a list of all the things I didn’t do in Sydney, and it’s going to be long… I will definitely spend here more time before flying back home.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

WavesWaves
Waves

Just something that I liked On the ferry from Manly
My only souvenir of Hunter ValleyMy only souvenir of Hunter Valley
My only souvenir of Hunter Valley

Nice views for one of the vineyards


6th May 2005

ANZAC
Did you know they fought here ? in Gaza ? in 1917 ? I was actualy thrilled to find that there is a memorial for the Anzacs close to us (the kiboutz). I've heard/read so much about them in my battlefields trips in France ... Miss you ! - Brouria

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb