Sydney has an amazing zoo!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
April 21st 2005
Published: April 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was a gray and sometimes rainy day so I decided to start with some errands, hoping the weather will improve. And so I became the proud owner of a local Australian bank account, at the big ANZ bank. (If you wonder, it doesn’t mean I’m staying here forever, it’s just a way to save the horrible 2.35% commission of Visa).
Since the weather didn’t improve I went to a museum. The book says that the Powerhouse museum is one of the best in Sydney, integrating technology, design, environmental issues, etc. Bullshit, it was so boring… Apart from a small exhibition about computers’ history (some of it made me feel very old, the 80s are in a museum), there was nothing interesting. In this specific exhibition I found a lot of interest to learn about Charles Babbage and his difference machine. It’s amazing that some people were so smart!
Then I had dim sum for lunch, and I think I am getting tired of dim sum. It’s good that I am not going to China!
The boredom and the food had a heavy effect on me. I was close to the hostel and urged for a nap but I made myself
QVB - windows like a cathedralQVB - windows like a cathedralQVB - windows like a cathedral

(which reminds me to congratulate the Catholics for their new Pope)
give it up. I took a bus to central district (5 minutes) and visited QVB - Queen Victoria Building. I don’t remember the history of the building, now it’s a fancy shopping center. The building itself was restored and is simply remarkable. See the pictures. However, after that I gave up to my fatigue, and I went back to take a nice afternoon nap. Am I not on vacation???

That night I moved to Susan. I am staying here 3 days till her parents come to visit (it wasn’t a very good timing for me to come the same week :-). It’s great to be with a friend and in a real apartment. It’s much nicer than the Maze…

This morning was still gray but nevertheless I went to Taronga zoo - one of Sydney’s Must-Do attractions. I saw plenty of cute animals and some real scary ones. For the cute ones, I really hope to encounter them also in nature. The rest - I prefer not to…



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

WallabiesWallabies
Wallabies

Relatives of the Kangaroos
The famous Tasmanian devilThe famous Tasmanian devil
The famous Tasmanian devil

I am glad he hardly exists outside Tasmania
MeerkatsMeerkats
Meerkats

I have absolutely no idea what ae they, but they were cute
And most adorable - penguins (1)And most adorable - penguins (1)
And most adorable - penguins (1)

This is the yellow eyed penguin, my friend from NZ
Penguin (2)Penguin (2)
Penguin (2)

Those are the little penguins
penguins (3)penguins (3)
penguins (3)

The little guys in close up


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb