The Land of Oz


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
August 11th 2012
Published: August 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I managed to grab a couple hours of sleep on the flight as I luckily had a spare seat next to me so could spread out a bit. However when I arrived in Sydney was told i wouldnt be able to have my bag re-checked in until that evening! Bloody brilliant!! It was easily remedied as I was able to pay a small fee to have my bag kept at the airport.

I then grabbed the train to Circular Quay and had a wander around the Opera House, the whole area seemed smaller than I had imagined. It was also bloody cold and drizzling but I loved it after being in Asia with averages of 30 degrees for 4 weeks!!

Following the Knowling's advice I caught the ferry over to Manly but the seas were choppy and my insistance to stay outside and see the sites got my rather wet! On arrival I went to a seaside bar and got a brilliant meal of Oysters, Calamari, Prawns and Fish, accompanied by chips and a pint. I was still a bit dazed and confused how I was there but was great food! I then went for a walk along the coastline round the bays for a couple of hours which was delightful before catching the ferry back and going back to the airport. I was bloody knackered at this point so once I checked in and grabbed a sandwich went and laid down by the gate waiting for my flight, which was ........delayed!!!!

I did have a nice chat with a guy doing a survey for aussie tourism which took up some time and the guy was very pleasant! Luckily I had a whole row of three seats to myself so was able to stretch out and sleep!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb