The Goodbye Song


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
June 1st 2006
Published: June 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, it's come to this. The end of Scubapalooza is near. I leave in a couple of hours for the long journey home. The 3 weeks have been great. I did 27 dives which were all memorable. In total, I now have 49 dives logged & am already thinking about #50. People have asked me which was the best dive. It's hard to say. Maui had amazing visibility but the shark dives were definitely the most exciting.

Sydney is a great city with tons to do and see. As you'll see from my photos, I can't get enough of the Sydney Opera House which continues to amaze me. I also had the great opportunity to see a concert in the Concert Hall, "Sing Sing" a fusion of West Papua indigenous music and Australian rock. Side-by-side they used traditional percussion and drums made of animal skins. A great show! The weather's been great so I've walked all over the city and went to Manly and Bondi/Coogee, north and south beach towns known for their surfing.

Just like any good party, it's the people you meet that make the difference. I've met travelers from the UK, Canada, Wales, Sweden, USA, South
Sydney Opera House (1)Sydney Opera House (1)Sydney Opera House (1)

ok, this one is an error but I think it looks pretty cool
Africa, Botswana, Germany, Japan, France, etc. and many others from the visited countries who were all very nice. There was Pete in AUS who bought me a beer just b/c I was sitting nearby and he noticed mine was empty. Ben and "T.T" from Cape Town and Botswana, respectively, who I met in Tasmania and helped me celebrate with the gold medal-winning men's (field) hockey team. That's a whole other story! And, I can't forget the Ka Viti dive crew and staff who entertained us with guitars and ukeleles on board and with "The Goodbye Song" after our dives.

Cheers,
Darren


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Cliff WalkCliff Walk
Cliff Walk

south beaches


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb