Moving on.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
May 31st 2011
Published: May 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Leaving the islands was hard, our group numbers had rapidly depleted ove the week, and a few were staying on the islands for longer so they left to extend visas. Ive become so used to being surrounded by so many people I dont like being without them all. The group has continued to get smaller and smaller until I was the last one in Bangkok! Scary! I was feeling really lonely, but a bit of time to myself has been good. I got lots of shopping done and have managed to fly to Sydney, do some sightseeing including the Sydney Opera House, have a hot chocolate in Starbucks to calm my nerves and write my diary, and now my blog is almost up to date Im ready for phase 2, I think.

I was feeling so comfortable and at home In Thailand, especially in Bangkok at the end since I knew my way around and I had bartering doen to a fine art by the end. Even sat in Bangkok airport I felt incredibly chilled about everything. But then as soon as I got on the plane the nerves kicked in. I wish I was still in Asia!!!! I miss it so much. And the people! When I arrived in Sydney I had no plan as my flight onto Cairns is this evening so it was a case of finding something and somewhere to go in the mean time. I asked around a little though, and my rucksacks checked in and ready, Ive got my boarding card, I know where Im going and Im all set. So far so good.

I was gutted to see the rain when we landed. Ive gone from 35 degrees or more, to 12. Bummer. The jeans and hoodie have gone on, and the flip flops are packed away, hopefully only for the time being Im sure there will be some warmer days. Its also insanely expensive here. I dont think Ill be treating myself to coffee and cake every afternoon like we could afford to in Thailand anymore. While before I could get a meal, usually Pad Thai, for less than a pound, often 70p, I will now be paying $5 or more. It english prices, so not suitable for a backpacker at all! But on the brightside, they have real white chocolate and massive bars of it, salt n vinegar crisps, and Ive even spotted some 7elevens!!! Happy girl again 😊 Australias going to be so incredibly different to Asia, guess Ill have a better verdict in 5 weeks time when I leave for Africa.

This time to myself has been really good actually, Ive had time to get my head around everything, catch up on everything, and prepare myself for the next few weeks. Plus Ive found being on my own means I get less hassle. Particularly in Bangkok, I didnt get harraassed so much when walking on my own. People have been more friendly, rather than talking to me with a motive. On my bus to the airport I chatted to the girl next to me, and it turned out more people on the bus were on my flight so that was handy. Today I was looking at Ugg boots by the Sydney Harbour, and I ended up talking to someone about his friends in Thailand. Even in Starbucks the guy behind the till asked if id been to Thailand simply because of the elephant bag Im using. I love it! Im noticing more of whats around me when theres no other people. I definately miss having people to talk to, but its been a good chance to look back at everything thats happened. Ive seen and done so much, and learnt a hell of a lot. I do suddenly feel a lot older. this is all starting to sound very gay ha sorry... on a lighter note, one lesson I learnt yesterday, never touch your face if you have smudged wet henna on your hands! I now have a patch of henna on my forehead...right in the middle....yes its bad. Nice one Holly!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0226s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb