Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
January 23rd 2011
Published: January 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Darling HarbourDarling HarbourDarling Harbour

Shame about the cloudy sky
Hello again. It was raining quite heavily when I got to Sydney - probably not a bad thing but I didn't fancy dragging by bag round the wet streets of the city so I went to check into the hotel to dump my bags. By the time I'd done that the rain had stopped but it was a cloudy day and it didn't feel all that warm to me. Anyway - I only had a day and a half in Sydney so decided that getting a 24 hour ticket for the sightseeing bus was the best way to get round but as it was the morning I decided to try and find my way to Darling harbour to find my way round there and get some lunch before getting the bus. First impressions of Sydney was that it was much bigger and busier than the other places I've been to and not so easy to get your bearings but after stumbling through China town I found the harbour. It's a great place to people watch so after walking up and down the restaurants to find a place to have lunch I grabbed a seat outside, ordered a drink and watched the world go by - heaven! After lunch I carried on round the harbour and found the bustop (exciting isn't it?). I got off the bus at the Rocks (somewhere I know a couple of you suggested I should go) - quaint place with lots of winding backstreets with cafes and small boutique shops. I forgot to mention that before you get to the rocks on the bus you get a wonderful view of the harbour bridge. I had decided not to do a walk on the bridge - it's expensive and whilst I'm OK with heights I don't like bridges that have running water going under them and that pretty much describes the Sydney Harbour Bridge. And you have to wear a very unattractive jumpsuit. After the Rocks I wandered down to Circular Quay where I got my fist view of the other great Sydney landmark across the water - the Opera House. I sat and did a bit more people watching (which included my first sighting of a didgeridoo (not sure if that it spelt correctly!) player before deciding to try and navigate my way back to my hotel through the shopping area which I did quite successfully. Successful in that I only stopped in one shop to buy a new pair of flip flops AND I managed to get back to the hotel. The next day was pretty uneventful - I got the most out of my bus ticket and went to the Opera house and walked round the Botanical gardens - very beautiful. However as I was trying to find my way out of the gardens I came across a sign requesting that if I find a flying fox on the ground I shouldn't touch it but inform a member of staff. I was confused but as I looked up into the trees I saw them - millions of them. I don't like bats and these were huge bats. Considering they are nocturnal animals some of them looked very twitchy so I took a photo and moved on - very quickly. I had spotted some nice looking cocktails on the menu at the cafe I had breakfast in so decided I'd go and have an early evening cocktail. They do verrrrrrrrrrry nice cocktails here and I was only going to have one before heading back to the hotel to pack for my trip to Tasmania as I
Sydney Opera HouseSydney Opera HouseSydney Opera House

Percy and I got some strange looks whilst taking this photo
had an early start but things didn't go to plan. After turning down an invite to join a group for dinner and drinks I shared a bottle of wine with a girl from Sutton Coldfield who has settled over here and was in Sydney on business. She did her best to try and convince me that I should move over here but admitted that unless you have the right skills it's hard to do. She retired to bed while she could still walk in a straight line and I returned to y hotel to do my packing. So I'm off to Tasmania now to see my lovely family for 2 weeks where I'll have a go at uploading some photos onto my blog for you. Until the next time.....bye for now


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Flying foxesFlying foxes
Flying foxes

If I'd known they were in the trees I'd have avoided the area!


24th January 2011

Percy
I love the one of Percy in front of Sydney Opera House! Sounds fantastic so far, keep it coming! Katrina x

Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb