Little local outings


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
April 3rd 2010
Published: April 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Little Local Outings - 27th February to 4th March 2010

Well long time no write from me, Bowks has certainly been taking the helm as for blog updating goes over the last month or two whilst in Australia. I put it down to my hectic working schedule (any excuse!) Both Bowks and are still working with Bowks making peoples day by feeding them big dollops of ice cream in a variety of flavours whilst asking “would you like it in a cup or a cone?” For myself it’s been coach, coach, coach city central working for Sportspro coaching in gymnastics and football in schools. I tell you what, Aussies sure do like their sport! Their facilities are fantastic and many are keen to use them.

So what have we been up to recently, well in-between our busy work schedule we’ve been fitting in a few local offerings. We decided to take the Koala Sanctuary which I located whilst on my way to work one day. Koalas, what funny animals! They look the most chilled out animal I think I have ever seen! Either fast asleep in odd positions in trees or ever so slowly munching on eucalyptus leaves with an occasional walk which in itself looks hilarious! We wandered around viewing the other animals too including kangaroos which we were able to hand feed and we spotted a joey in its mothers pouch, well in fact we saw more of its feet really, plus bats, kookaburras with their heckling laugh and much more. The highlight was definitely the koalas though as many of the other animals we have seen in the wild already, particularly the bats and cockatoos which are often seen in numbers in local parks.

The Mardis Gras was on in Sydney a few weeks ago with what was a huge parade through the streets in Sydney. Unfortunately Bowks had had to work that eve so instead I met my mate Scott from work to watch a bit of the parade. The city was heaving and the roads full of people trying to get the best viewing spot of the brightly coloured floats and great fancy dress. After 20 mins to try and climb on bins etc we decided to skip the parade and head to the pub with the outcome being Bowks coming to save me as I was feeling a bit tipsy after putting away few sambucas! Still a very good night!

Another one of our wee outings took us out to Blacktown which is an hour west of Sydney and home to one of the last few remaining few drive in cinemas in Australia. I knew Bowks had always wanted to go to a drive in cinema and if I’m honest I liked the sound of it too. I had found out from a friend for whom I worked that the cinema was not far from the city so as a surprise for Bowks I picked her up from work one eve and drove her out there. It was great and just as we’d imagined. Parking your car on a slope, tuning the radio in to get the sound for the movie and then reclining your seat a bit and eating confectionary and crisps while watching the film. Bowks particularly like the sight of the odd bird or bat that would suddenly fly across the cinema screen and would have a giggle and say “how weird is that?!” What a brilliant evening.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Bowks at workBowks at work
Bowks at work

At Patagonia Ice Cream, Coogee
The Sydney SkylineThe Sydney Skyline
The Sydney Skyline

Taken from a local park


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb