More Sydney & the Blue Mountains


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
March 11th 2010
Published: March 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Before visiting yet another great country (New Zealand), I had a couple of more days to spend in Sydney. I planned it that way, because the weather was not so good when I was in Sydney the first time, so I thought that I'd save some of the sights until the end of my Australia trip, hoping for better weather. The weather was better, luckily!

Last year, I met a Canadian girl via couchsurfing, who stayed at my place for a few days in The Hague on her trip in Europe. She was travelling again now, but this time in New Zealand and Australia, just like me. She's doing work as a nanny in Sydney now, so we met up for an afternoon in Manly and did a beautiful coastal walk of 3 hours. I had been in Manly before last month, but it was raining at the time so I didn't appreciate it that much then. We then said goodbye again and "we'll meet again sometime, somewhere!"

In the evening, I went to take some pictures of Sydney by night from one of the main parks near the botanical garden. There were a lot of people exercising and running there, and I experimented a little bit with my pictures of people running at sunset in front of the Sydney skyline. I hope those pictures turned out nice for you :-)

The next day, I went for an overnight trip to the Blue Mountains, an amazing national park only a short ride away from Sydney. The Blue Mountains is famous for its rocky landscape, especially the "Three Sisters", which are three stand-alone rocks that seem to have eroded away from the main rocky cliff. I did a nice walk down in the valley of the park for a couple of hours and then had the "steepest inclined railway in the world" (see picture) back up to the viewpoints. I went back to the viewpoints for sunset, but it had become cloudy, although the Three Sisters did get some nice warm evening light on them, of which I took a picture of course. It was back to my hostel then, and the next day to Sydney again. I didn't do much that last day, just mentally prepared myself for New Zealand!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



13th March 2010

impressed by the lizard!
13th March 2010

...and impressed by the bat as well
17th March 2010

Tony, goed bezig! Mooie foto's ook!

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0709s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb