Super Bowl Monday


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
February 8th 2010
Published: February 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Downtown SydneyDowntown SydneyDowntown Sydney

The view of downtown Sydney from across Darling Harbour is spectacular.
Today is Monday. But, with the time difference, back in the US it is still Sunday. In fact, it is Super Bowl Sunday. And my understanding is that makes for a fun morning in Australia, as many of the bars open up to cover the game.

I started off my day with a run in the rain - it’s apparently been raining a lot here, with numerous severe thunderstorms - staying mostly near the hostel. I got back, showered up and tried to get back into my room but my key wasn’t working again. So rather than wake up my roommates, many of who were out late last night, I rode the elevator and waited for help at the reception desk in just a pair of shorts and my towel draped around my neck like a scarf.

I finished getting ready and did my weekly check-in with my parents. While I’m here in warm weather, it snowed back home. A lot. A lot as in more than a foot, with more coming mid-week. This trip was such a smart idea.

I wrapped up my call and went out to find a bar that was playing the game, hoping
Tall shipTall shipTall ship

I still have that urge that developed in Baltimore to sail one of these across the Atlantic. Someday.
to come upon a good crowd. The first one I saw was empty. The second had a few guys inside so I went in. They were actually playing keno at 10 am. It was getting a little too close to kickoff for me so I decided to stay and had a pint of Victoria Bitter. VB is one of Australia’s most popular beers. That doesn’t mean it’s any good.

The placed stayed empty through kickoff so I left at the first break to go back to the hostel and see if it was on there. In the TV area, a group of about 30 people were casually watching it. I’m not sure how many even knew what was going on.

The game itself was really enjoyable, with the Saints beating the Colts to win their first ever Super Bowl. One of the more entertaining aspects of the Super Bowl - the commercials - was missing, though during some breaks the local broadcaster showed some highlights. The commentators added their own interpretation and analysis. From what I saw, the commercials were lacking.

The rest of the day was spent touring Sydney. I first made my way down to
Harbour BridgeHarbour BridgeHarbour Bridge

The most famous bridge in Sydney.
Darling Harbour, passing St. Andrew’s Cathedral, Town Hall and Queen Victoria Building on the way. The harbour reminded me a lot of the inner harbor in Baltimore, with tall ships, many tourist attractions and tons of shops and restaurants on the harbour’s perimeter.

Next, I headed down to Harbour Bridge, the worlds largest steel arch bridge. Besides the opera house, it is Sydney’s most recognizable structures. As I started to walk across, I saw some people looking up into some trees that rose above the bridge. They were taking pictures of something. When I got there, I saw it was of two scarlet breasted parrots that were resting on one of the branches. The vivid mix of red, blue, orange, yellow and green certainly make these some of the more uniquely colored birds in the world. But they couldn’t (or at least didn’t) talk. Ramon, my parents’ Amazon, has them beat on that one.

The bridge itself offers a great walk, with a sharp breeze eliminating the effect of the otherwise hot and humid weather. From its apex, I had phenomenal views of the opera house, Circular Quay, the tall buildings downtown and some lovely homes across Sydney
ParrotsParrotsParrots

A pair of scarlet breasted parrots in a tree along Harbour Bridge. The parrots' vivid colors are breathtaking.
Harbour. When I got across, I opted not to go into the town below; instead returning to continue my touring of The Rocks, Circular Quay and the opera house.

The Rocks is Sydney’s oldest settlement and contains a slew of pubs, restaurants and tourist shops. There is even a Lowenbrau restaurant, based on the one in Munich. The beers there were a bit more expensive than Oktoberfest - AU$20 ($US18.50) for a liter whereas at Oktoberfest they were under US$15.

In The Rocks, I found an information center to see if there’s anything else to see and do while I’m here. The main thing that caught my eye is to see an opera at the opera house. My timing isn’t great as there is only one while I am scheduled to be here; a romantic one I never heard of on Wednesday night. But Tosca is here Thursday night so I’m contemplating staying another night to see that. If I can get a reasonably priced ticket. There isn’t a standing room option like in Vienna.

After The Rocks, I made my way around Circular Quay and finally made it to the iconic opera house. Many people sat
Opera houseOpera houseOpera house

A view of the world famous opera house from the bridge.
along the steps, talking with friends and reading. I found a spot in the shade and read some more of Robinson Crusoe. I’d like to tour the facilities before I leave here. It will have to be another day since they were already closed by the time I got there.

My last touring was through the botanical gardens on my walk back. The flowers and trees were nice but the most interesting part was trying to spot parrots and cockatoos that made their residence in the gardens. A few times I saw cockatoos fly overhead.

After a tiring day on the town, I opted to stay in tonight. I had a rump steak and chips down at the bar and a Toohey’s (another popular Australia beer) to wash it down. The Toohey’s is much better than VB.

I also started to catch up on my entries, sorting through pictures and working on the next and last big trip - a trek to Everest Base Camp with Dave.

Tomorrow, if the weather holds, I’m planning to make my way to Bondi Beach, just outside the city.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The RocksThe Rocks
The Rocks

The oldest section of town.


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb