A few months on


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
November 25th 2009
Published: December 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Me with poiMe with poiMe with poi

the most amazing poi ever!
So after the success of my last blog...I thought I would start again with the important info that I'm sure I missed out last time.

I'm still in Sydney, have been here since the middle of August...and I intend to be here for at least the next 4 or 5 months.

I have a job. And have been in it for the last month. I'm working at a health insurance company checking insurance claims. It isn't the most exciting job in the world....but its getting me money whcih is good, and i'm with some pretty nice people so thats ok. I'm meant to be working there for the next 5 months. I keep myself awake using a combination of coffee, and other caffeine drinks, nuts and banana. Fun times for petey.
But can't complain, I work right in the centre of the city so its really easy to get to, and yeh money means fun times :-)

Next news.

I found a place to live. I have been at Chili Blue ever since I arrived in Sydney, and the truth is, I kind of love it. I've had such a good time with the people I've been living with, and getting home from work to hugs from other long term peeps is great. However, a lot of people have started moving on now so it is the perfect opportunity to break out and do my own thing. OR our own thing, I'm taking Liina with me. We have found a shared apartment right by darling harbour with all sorts of cool facilities available to us (rooftop swimming pool, gym, sauna etc) and at a pretty reasonable price. This means I can walk to work and hopefully will use the free gym and actually do some exercise for a change! Watch this space on whether that actually happens. We're living with 7 other people I think, A welsh guy who we're sharing a bedroom with, and then two sets of french people who take the other two rooms. Each room has its own bathroom and then we have a large living area and medium sized kitchen. ITs not quite what we wanted (we were looking for a place with separate rooms...possibly by ourselves...and ended up with a share flat with 5 other people!) but i'm still way excited about it.

During the week, i dont get up to tooo much, except working and sleeping and having the odd bottle of cider or two in the evenings. I'm not sure if this will change when we're in the flat, or if things will become even more quiet. ITs very easy to just hang out with the hostel crew when we're here...and even though they go out every night and get drunk, and i jsut go to bed, I still feel like i'm part of a little community. Perhaps when I'm in the flat we will get on really well with who i'm living with, and hang out with them or i will just spend my evenings going all over the place trying to find company! OR maybe I will become a fitness freak and go to the gym all the time! Hmmm, I very much doubt that.

I am staying in Sydney over Xmas and New Year as I will have to work. As yet we havent made plans for Xmas day. We have to decide if we want a roast dinner, or bbq. I want a roast...but at the same time, also think we should do as the ozzies do and bbq it up. As for New Year, I have a Bush Doof to go to which I'm pretty excited about. It is at a site I've been to a couple of times and has a creeek to swim in (yeah its gonna be HOT!) and lots of my usual crew are going so should be great.

And then...

I moved into my Appartment. Yeah, I'm here right now. I finaly have a computer of my very own..and internet that is quicker than ridiculously shit. We moved in last night, and it turns out for the first couple of weeks there are 11 of us in the appartment. or should i say 11 sardines in the tin. Oh well, Im actually still pretty happy to be here...altho i worry that the only reason is that i can now spend every minute of my free time browsing the internet and checking facebook.

I also found myself a differnet new job this week. I had a couple of interviews with a company a friend of mine works for and landed myself a customer service role, for a travel insurance company. The role looks to be much more interesting, and much better job experience than I have previously been getting. And I will be working with a few people I already know, who are ace. So all in all, its great. I start on 21st December. This means I will be living in Sydney, well, until who knows when! Definitely for the time being.....

I thinks thats enough to be getting on with. Hopefully I shall be writing a bit more regularly from now on.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0586s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb