Updates from OZ including dust storm


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
September 27th 2009
Published: September 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

As you all probably saw on the news Sydney had it's first ever dust storm last week. It happens quite often in other Australian cities, but has never happened in Sydney before. I woke up about 6:30am Wednesday morning to get ready for work and the first thing I noticed was that it was unusually dark. The next thing I noticed was a red glow from below the window shades, when I opened the bathroom our opaque window was glowing red! I opened the window and everything was just glowing! I though the city was burning down until I turned on the news and found out it was a dust storm. Pretty crazy. On my way to the bus to go to work, I saw a guy out with a dust pan and broom in the middle of a dust storm which I though was pretty funny, and took a picture of him. The other picture I took of the sun through the dust, and the third one I didn't take but a friend of mine who lives near the harbour bridge took it.

Last weekend grant and I went on a hike in the National Park, there are a
The SunThe SunThe Sun

the sun is the tinny dot in the middle
few picture here of the scenery. It was quite pretty, and we drove down to the beach, but it was way to cold to go in the water!

The last picture is from when we went to the Hawkesbury river a few weekends ago. Grant's family has a property there, and we just went for the weekend. When we first arrived, there were about 3 fires going, but i'm pretty sure they were put on for fire control later in the season because they were out by the evening time. It was very nice to get out of the city for a weekend though!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Sydney Bridge Dust StormSydney Bridge Dust Storm
Sydney Bridge Dust Storm

This one was taken by a friend of mine
Fire at the riverFire at the river
Fire at the river

pretty sure it was a bush fire control thing


12th July 2010

thanks
Laura, always nice to hear from you, so interesting! I'm planning a crab feed for your family sometime soon here at the beach, when do you come home? Will Grant be comming with you? Tim

Tot: 0.281s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb