The Kindness of Strangers


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
August 20th 2009
Published: August 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

There are moments in life, especially when traveling, when the kindness of others, sometimes even strangers, is so touching and so heartwarming, it leaves you feeling humble and very grateful.
There are so many moments throughout this trip that I thought: I might just have to compile a list....and that is exactly what I have done.

-The friendly Cambodian guy on the flight from Bangkok to Phnom Penh who went through my entire Lonely Planet Cambodia and starred the places and activities that he thought were worthwhile.
-Gordon at Two Dragons for loving to talk and having the most accurate opinions ever.
-The four Americans at Two Dragons who let us use their laptop because we were terrified of the keystroking software at the local internet cafe.
-Jenni for becoming our third wheel.
-Matahari dive shop for not charging me for the night dive debacle.
-The reception woman at Hotel Elegance in Hanoi (I didn't even stay there) who spent hours helping me sort out my Vietnam Air ticket fiasco. While in the end, she actually led me astray, her kindness more than made up for it.
-Andy for giving me a little gift...twice.
-Phuk who left Monkey Island just to buy a birthday cake and flowers for Barbara's birthday.
-Jason for making a flower bouquet on our porch in Koh Tao.
-All of the people on the streets of Vietnam who, without eye contact, a smile or any emotion, offered to help me find my way when they noticed I was struggling with a map.
-The little old lady who sang her little song while she showed me & JB how to eat the fried spring rolls in Hanoi.
-The tuk-tuk driver in Siem Reap for waiting up for us to make sure he knew what time we wanted to leave the next day.
-Jang for giving us the room at Matahari.
-Sarah for being my safety net when my debit card wasn't working.
-My Aunt in Sydney for picking me up at the airport and re-introducing me to the creature comforts of Western civilization.

I am so grateful to have encountered so many kind people along the way.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb