Week 19 - Part 1


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
August 17th 2009
Published: August 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This week began with a 2 day trip into the blue mountains. We had to get the first ferry into town to catch the tour. Whats so great about sydney is the fact that you can be in the mountains then on the beach within 90mins. The blue mountains get their name because of a blue haze which surrounds them caused by the way the light hits the gases emitted by the thousands of eucalyptus trees that cover the mountains. The weather forecast wasn't fantastic but as soon as we had left the centre of sydney the skys cleared and we were blessed with a beautiful day. Our first stop was to one of the many national parks where we got to see lots of Kangaroos. We did 2 longish walks, one of which involved going down 600 steps. Instead of walking back up we were booked for a ride on the steepest railway in the world. I expected it to be steep, but not that steep, we were practically vertical. There was a cage to stop us from falling out, and it was kind of like a rollercoaster ride. At the top we were created by loads of parrots that the staff were feeding and they kept landing on us. The first time it happened I almost jumped out of my skin. Their claws were really sharp and Lauren got scratched by one of them. After our adventure on the train they dropped us off at the hostel. This was by far one of the nicest hostels I've ever stayed in.. it was just like a hotel in the way it was laid out and the kitchen was fantastic. They had a huge old wooded staircase and a reading room with a nice warm fire. We ended up talking to an Australian guy from Melbourne for the rest of the evening and we went on a walk together to see the 3 sisters (a rock formation with an interesting aboriginal story behind it) lit up at night. The rocks looked almost ghostly and although we were miles from the sea and couldn't hear any waves, it felt like we were on the coast, simply because all we could see looking out from the view point (aside from the 3 sisters) was blackness... it was kind of spooky.

Originally I had planned to go abseiling/canyoning while in the blue mountains, but lauren and I decided to save our money and go on a 5-7hr hike, which didn't cost us a penny. It look us forever to get to the start of the walk as it was a little way out of town. When we finally got there the first section involved yet more steps. They're natural steps so they come in all different shapes and sizes and there was one section we had to use a rope. At the bottom we walked round the base of the cliffs and over several rockfalls... we were on our own little adventure. We could have walked back up the steps we climbed down yesterday, but we needed to be back at the hostel in time for our pick up to we got the cable car back up, giving us spectacular views of the surrounding mountains and forest. I would have loved to have spent more time exploring the blue mountains as I love being in the country, especially where there are mountains to climb and hikes to do, but the last 2 days have given me a pretty good taster.

Our first day back at Sydney was spent at the famous Bondi Beach. There was only one surf hire shop open and it was quite expensive, so I wasn't sure whether it was worth going for a surf, but in the end I decided I would regret it if I didn't and hired a board for 2 hrs. The guys in the shop couldn't seem to believe that I can surf and kept asking me if I was sure I wanted a hard board, which I thought was a bit sexist. Unfortunately the surf wasn't very good and there was a strong side rip, so that along with the fact I got really bad cramp in one foot meant I didn't managed to catch many waves. Lauren and I met up again afterwards and started our walk to Coogee beach, apparently a must do. We passed a spot with all the local pro surfers and some of the waves they were catching were huge. We sat and watched them for a while before continuing with our walk. By the end of it I was knackered. Today’s surf along with the last 2 days of walking and the surfing last week have really knocked it out of me and I was glad to be able to sit on the bus on the way back to Circular Quay.

After our exhausting few days we had a bit of a late start the following morning and I started to pack. When we eventually got into town we headed to Paddys market, where I bought some souvenirs (including my aussi cowboy hat... very sexy). After that we headed for Manly on the ferry, which was huge. We got some great views of the opera house and harbour bridge. We had a nice relaxing afternoon walking along the beach and the window shopping in town.

Lauren wanted to go to Sydney Zoo, but I'd already been to Steve Irwin’s Zoo, so we ended up doing our own thing on our last day in Australia. We had a very early start and I began it by walking through the Royal Botanical Gardens. I got some great views of the opera house and I really began to appreciate its size and complexity of its construction. I walked right through the gardens through the domain (where I got slightly lost) and then down the centre of Hyde Park. I kept forgetting how early in the morning it was and there were loads of people going for a jog before work. It was really peaceful and gave me a lot of time to think about what my time in Australia has meant to me. After hyde park I headed across town to darling harbour. I had planned to go to the fish markets, but I decided I would be putting to much temptation in my face and going was asking for an allergic reaction. I then walked right back down to the rocks and across the sydney harbour bridge. I got some great photos and I noticed that as I walked along the bridge my view of the opera house changed and again I was able to appreciate why its one of sydneys great landmarks. Spent pretty much the whole day on my feet and when I got back to circular Quay I treated myself to a huge Italian Ice cream which I ate sitting by the harbour with the opera house on one side and the harbour bridge on the other. Back at wendys we rushed off to the post office to send a parcel of stuff home, which I've accumulated over the last few months. Lauren and I said we would treat wendy and Alistair to a meal at the Thai restaurant they like to say thank you for welcoming us into their home.
Now that really was the best meal I've had in ages. They had loads of veggie stuff to choose from and it was reasonably priced for what it was. I can honestly say I haven't eaten that much in ages and I could hardly move afterwards, but it was sooooo worth it.

I really am going to be sad to leave Australia, especially since I've spent such a long time here. I've got to know how Australia works and its been my home for the last 3 months, it will be strange having to get used to a new country again, but it will be a new adventure with Lauren and because of that Im excited.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb