Let's Go Outback Tonight


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
August 17th 2009
Published: August 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It has been an eventful weekend this week! It started Friday when I bussed out to Sydney University to go indoor rock climbing with the rock climbing club. I have been climbing a few times, but this climb was way more fun. I plan to go again next Friday when the club meets again (and when my body is less sore.) On Saturday, we planned to meet at the train station at 11:00am to catch the 11:40 train to a town called Wollongong. Our main purpose for going to the town: to go to the Outback Steakhouse that we knew was there. One of my friends here works at the Outback Steakhouse in Santa Barbra, California, and wanted to see how the Outback here compared; the rest of us just wanted to be ironic. The only problem is that not everyone was at the station by 11:40am, so instead of going to Wollongong we decided to explore the city a bit more. We ate at a restaurant in China Town, went inside of the Sydney Opera House, and explored the Botanical Gardens. After hours of walking, we decided that we still wanted to go to the Outback Steakhouse. We hopped on a train and took it two stops to Strathfield. From there we had to find a bus to take us to North Strathfield, and then we had to call the restaurant to get directions to the steakhouse. The Outback Steakhouse in North Strathfield, I’m happy to report, is nearly exactly the same as those that I have gone to in the United States. After eating dinner at the bar, we found our way back home for one of the French exchange student’s birthday. The next day I awoke to the warmest weather I’ve encountered while in Australia. It was 29 degrees Celsius or…about 85F. Now I have to go study for my mid-semester tests this week.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb