Down Under


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
February 9th 2005
Published: February 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Dear All,

Okay, I finally made it to Sydney Australia;

Upon arriving at my hostel, a quaint, out-of-the-way brick "cottage" in the Sydney suburbs, I was greeted by what could have been a washer lady from England during its Industrial Age. She was all ruddy-faced and foul-mouthed. She waddled like an angry penguin. Her bulging forearms scared me. Still, she was an inviting personality, generously sprinkling her talk using the word "love."
Some Aussie peculiarities: there is no "exit," just a "way out." Bathrooms for "men" and "women." Not! Just "male" and "female" with a separate "parents'room" for changing dirty diapers. Also, there seem to be more people of Asian descent here (in Sydney) than San Francisco. We're talking over 50% of the population! Even the keyboard on which I'm typing on has cryptic Asian characters all over it!!!
Well, hey, maybe my American accent will pay off and be seen as sexy. I bet they like the harsh "AR-AR-AR" sound of U.S. English.

Ciao for now,
Diana

Advertisement



23rd February 2005

You reckon?
Trust me, no Australians like American accents, or American tourists for that matter.... - Aussie Joe

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb