"Bondi Rescue"


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
February 8th 2006
Published: February 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

After yesterday, a bit of fresh air was required. I set out through Darlinghurst hoping a good start would lift my spirits. It worked. I glided through the cafe world like a bee pollinating flowers. Hover a bit, see if any one is interested then on to the next scene. The bee gets just a little bit of nectar (donation) and the flower gets pollinated (stickers go out). Nice analogy.
Then a bus to Rose bay where previously I'd had no luck. I hate to delete or discount anywhere in Australia from the wave of support for " Southern Cross and Boomerang" so a return was a chance for Rose Bay to be "on side". No problem. For a quiet place, this time the response was terrific.
I continued on a walking tour to the cliffs and an intention to walk to Bondi. Cliff views and suburban streets followed. Then sights of that famous beach. Walking along the strand I'm accosted by a young girl desperste for a sticker. She's go no money as per beach life. They're drinking beer but. So I say "How about a beer." No problem, beer for sticker. We're chatting. Another siticker, another beer. Another beer. Time to carry on or carry off.
I stroll through the thin Wednesday Bondi scene and on to Tamarama. As I decend the steps to the beach, I see a film crew working. A guy rushes down the steps of the lifeguard station saying what a fabulous flag. He's, Will, the director of this Channel 10 production, a six part series called "Bondi Rescue". He says stay around till the main shoot is over and maybe he'll be able to use me and flag in show. I wait. Shooting over. Very casually Will and cameraman and two "Lifeguards" and me start discussion on design. In the middle some kid with a surfboard with the current flag on it lobs in. Much filming. The main guys are saying they like the design but are sticking with current flag. Then tape runs out and while cameraman gets new tape, lifeguard says he'd vote for my flag. I said say that on camera. He demures.
Bottom line. Will thinks this is hot material and expects it to make final cut.
Oh yeah and I sang my part-finished new Australian National Anthem on camera.
Somebody stop me.
Had a swim.
Finally got to Bronte.
Maybe fifty stickers managed to go out amid all this.
Good day.




















Advertisement



15th March 2006

Bondi Rescue
He could have at least told us WHEN Bondi rescue was on TV!!!!!!!!!!!!
24th April 2006

i love my life saving at bondi
my careea at bondi is great man fuck it
29th April 2006

Flag Design
please tell us again what the parts of the flag represent, and in case i never find my way back here, would you please send a reply to 'girl_tuesday27@yahoo.com'. i would also like to know where to get a sticker, or a copy of your flag. stellar

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0963s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb