Goodbye Sydney!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
May 6th 2009
Published: May 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I didn't write in my diary for nearly three months so it's hard to remember what I did. Mostly it was just working. Late February Robyn's boyfriend Thomas came over and they left for Melbourne. it was easier to get rid of our room alltogether so I moved out and into Amy and Suze's flat living with Brazillians, French and Korean's.
There was a triathlon one weekend at Coogee which I meant to go to but forgot about. I was was watching TV one day and it was on the telly so I hotfooted it down there to see the end. I bet my family wouldn't mind doing a tri here in the sea!
One Saturday we went to an AFL match. This is Ozzie rules, it seems to be a mix between football and rugby. It was at Olympic Park. We enjoyed it and eventually understood the rules. There didn't seem to be as much atmosphere as footie matches at home, not as much singing etc.
There have been more things on at Darling Harbour, there was a Greek festival on one weekend (the day I visited the Lindt cafe yum yum!), another weekend there was a Hoola hooping festival, loads of circus/acrobatic things and the last one I went to, Darling Harbour's 21st birthday celebrations. It was a dance and music festival, with dances/music from all cultures with a fantastic firework display at the end!
The Mardi Gras parade was in March along Oxford Street, just round the corner from us so we went along to watch. It was very crowded however, so we couldn't actually see much but what we did see was good.
On one of the rare days that we all had a day off we went to the Australian museum which was very good, lots of pretty rocks, skeletons and history.
I also did the Coogee-Bondi coastal walk. We were supposed to do that on OzIntro but the weather wasn't too good. It took about 2 1/2 hours and was lovely. Went through several small beaches, I didn't even know these lovely places existed, finishing at the famous Bondi beach!
I went to the Chinese Garden of Friendship one day. This is located in Darling Harbour. I had walked past it loads of times and only realised how big it was once I was in there. It is also so calm and tranquil, such a difference to city it is located directly in the middle of.
25th April was Anzac Day, like our Rememberance Sunday but for all those who fought in Gallipoli in World War I and other wars. There was a parade throughout Sydney ending at Hyde park, where there was a service outside the Anzac memorial.
On one of my last days I went to Berowa to visit Fiona and watch DVD's. it was a 40 minutes train ride away and was a lovely place. Even the train station was beautiful! We went to Pie in the Sky, a cafe with amazing views! On another of my last days I went to Pancake on the Rocks in Darling Harbour with Suze, was yummy and very filling.
I enjoyed living in Sydney. I worked just over three months in total at Douglass Hanly Moir Pathology, they asked me to stay longer but I was ready to leave Sydney and start travelling. I think I have had my fill of city living; whenever I got to the suburbs, for example when I was on the bus on the way to Coogee I felt a lot more content, but the city does have it's advantages, everything within walking distance and open virtually all day! I was certainly in for a shock when I got to Launceston, where there was virtually no-where open or no-one around after 6pm!
Next to come is my time in Tasmania!


Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



25th May 2009

Good times! xx

Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1063s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb