Surfers Paradise to Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
March 1st 2009
Published: March 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I think i was in surfers paradise when i last wrote. Since then the weather has picked up so i've been out and about more, hence the sorry lack of blogging. Managed to enjoy the beaches for my last couple of days in surfers paradise. After there i went down to byron bay, which is a really chilled place. I really liked it there and saw my first koala and kangaroo on a nature walk there. From there i took a day trip to Nimbin - a crazed hippy town - and went out to the rainforrest to meet a hippie. He was wandering around with no shoes on, muttering about quantum physics despite the leeches and creepy crawlies all around him. Was quite bizare.

After Byron bay i went up to Brisbane. From there i visited the Steve Irwin zoo, the koala sanctuary and spent a lot of time exploring the city on the ferry that ran up and down it, including the amazing shopping mall. There was also a fake beach in the middle of the sky scrapers so i got back to topping up my tan. I also met up with some people i'd met earlier on my travels so in all i had a really good time there. And of course there were plenty of nights out with cheap nasty wine.

I flew down to Sydney a couple of dats ago and spent yesterday doing all the sights, the harbour bridge, the opera house, the art museum and the aquarium. My feet are now killing me so think i might take it easy today on bondi beach for my last day in Australia before heading to New Zealand tomorrow. Will think of you all at work.

x


Additional photos below
Photos: 48, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



2nd March 2009

Carla is going to be so jealous of you cuddling a koala bear. Loving your blog Bex. Jim x
2nd March 2009

Choices
Ah! am gutted your not here for my birthday but looking at these pics.. there's no competition! I know where I'd rather be! LOL Miss u .. :)) xx

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0826s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb