Update on my life!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
February 16th 2009
Published: February 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Howdy!

Sorry it has been so long since I've updated. It's probably because I'm really getting settled into life here which is good! Haha, just in time for me to be leaving Sydney in a week and a half.

Last week at work was kind of boring because my supervisor was out of the office and so I wasn't given very interesting things to work on, oh well. This last week has been fun though because I've gotten to know some of the other employees better. I've had fun going out to lunch with some of them. They're all very nice and interested in how my experience has been here. The business culture here is much different from that in the states. At lunch we drank beer. Not just one, but two... at least. Then after we come back we enjoy a game of table tennis.

MAJOR BUMMER: It has rained the whole last week and they are expecting it to keep raining in Sydney all this week. Too bad it's not raining in Victoria, where all the bushifres are. The bushfires are so sad. Everyone here is trying to help out and I know the US has sent over a lot of firefighters to help out as well.

I was watching the news yesterday and I guess this one guy who lived in a small city in Victoria, found a buldozer and used it to make a trench thing around the city, protecting it from the fire. The crazy part is that now this brave guy is being sued by the owner of the buldozer. I think it's so nuts because he saved so many people and buildings.

This last weekend was rather calm. I didn't do anything on Friday other than stay late at work with everyone and have a few beers and play ping pong. Then I went to bed by 10pm and slept for 12 hours, it was absolutely glorious. Saturday I headed over to Manly beach and met up with my friend Tim from work and the 3 people (Elle, Seb & Ryan) he had visiting him from the U.K. We all went shopping, then made dinner, had some drinks and went out. It was fun and pretty laid back. Sunday was a day of rest, as it should be. :o)

This weekend I am heading to Cairns with 5 others. We are going to be scuba diving at the Great Barrier Reef. Very exciting, minus all the deadly box jelly fish! No worries, we will have on heavy duty wetsuits!

My last day of work is next Wednesday, the 25th, because 14 of us are taking off for our spring break adventure up the coast. We're going to be going to the Whitsundays, Fraser Island, and Byron Bay.

I hope all of you are doing well and staying warm! I'll try to bring some warm weather back with me!



Advertisement



16th February 2009

Hi!
It all sounds like fun. Boy, the 2 months has gone by so fast, right Jason? Well, enjoy you last bit of time in Sydney!
16th February 2009

Holiday
I'm going to Australia in March and April so have you got any good advice on places to go or see, aside from the famous landmarks? Loads of my friends have told me to go to Byran Bay so thats a must do for me!! Thanks

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb