Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
December 19th 2008
Published: December 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, I am exhausted!

On leaving Byron Bay I went on to "Surf Camp," where I attempted to surf, I didn't get very far though, everytime I tried to kneel (standing was going to be far too difficult!) I would succeed for a short while but as soon as I got confident I would fall off into the water, not overly pleasant!

No worries though, the next day we did the massive drive to Sydney. On arrival I checked in quickly, found my friend Anna and went to walk the Harbour Bridge. It gave us a nice view of the city. It wasn't too difficult but we were still very tired afterwards!

Today we attempted to "do" the rest of Syndey and I feel we managed it! First thing we got the bus to Bondi Beach and checked out the surfers, they were obviously much better than me! I got a piece of grit in my eye at Surf Camp and it decided to show its head on the way to Bondi, it was really quite painful and it made it very hard to see! It's getting better now though, thank goodness.

We then went to Circular Key, from where you can get ferries and see the Bridge and the Opera House. We took the ferry over to Manly, which is a beach area trying to be Bondi. It was much nicer though really, my favourites were two children playing christmas carols on the trombone and bassoon, truly lovely/hillarious! We went to the beach and checked out the shops and then headed back to Circular Key.

We walked to the Opera House, pretty impressive so we thought we'd take some pictures of ourselves with it. As we were trying to do this a load of Chinese tourists kept sitting with us and getting their picture taken, quite weird and it made me feel a bit like a freak as there must have been some reason they wanted pictures of us!

We then pottered around the Sydney streets, I insisted on taking the Monorail around town, it wasn't that great but I'm glad I did it though otherwise I would never have known!

We then headed back to the hostel for some dinner and I hope you can understand how exhausted I am! I'm off to Melbourne tomorrow which is why I had to do Sydney so quickly!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



27th December 2008

Sydney
Monorail sounds great fun! it is odd that the tourists wanted their photo taken with you both...saying that... Sydney sounds lovely. it must be odd having christmas somewhere so hot! Keep dem blogs coming... J x

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb