day 1 - typing fast so might not make sense


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
November 14th 2008
Published: November 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

so the plane ride was long but i slept most of the way. The woman next to me was from oregon and she was very nice we talked for quite some time. when we landed i got my luggage and headed for the train to go to kings cross which was so much more complicated then i had ever imagined! fortunatly there was this guy named marc from chicago (who had been living in australia for the last 2 years) he had over heard me asking how to get to kings cross and he took me there. i would never had known that i had to take 3 trains to get there. when i arrived at kings cross station i walked to my hotel and walked around the place for about 20 mins not knowing how to get in the building finally i saw a little buzzer that would let me in, so i put my bag in the reception area and started to walk around. i headed down williams street and ended up in this park and it lead me to the st marys cathedral, i took lots of pictures and will post them later at st marys i had run into an older man who i had run into coming out of the hotel, we started talking and he said that his wife had dies 3 years ago and that he was going to all the places that they had gone together while in sydney he was from new zealand. I then headed through hyde park and walked down market street to darling harbour and cockle bay i tried desperitly to find the place that the people form real world australia had lived but i could not find it, i was devistated but i had been a nice walk. i was starting to get hungry so i stopped at a familiar place, subway and had a sandwhich. from there i just kept walking and ended up walking to china town. by this time is was almost time to check into my hotel so i headed back to o'malleys and on the way a man saw my canada flag on my bad and asked me where in canada i was from and he said that he was just there at salt spring island, he was from scotland and living in sydney, so he accompanied me back to my hotel. when i got there i unpacked and headed out again. this time i walked through the botanical gardens which was very nice, it reminded me of stanley park. i followed the path through the botanical gardens to the sydney oprah house which was huge! i continued walking around the circular quay and walked through the rocks (an old part of sydney, i was expecting actual rocks). i then walked down george street which is a nice shopping area and i bought a mobile phone (just in case you want to call me my number is (011 61) 4 1511 4706). while walking back to my hotel i walked through hyde park and went to kings cross which was like hastings street. i bought a salad from mcdonalds and went back to my hotel room where i at and watched 1 of the 5 channels of tv and eventually went to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb