From Down Under


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
November 4th 2008
Published: November 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

New Zealand CrapperNew Zealand CrapperNew Zealand Crapper

Yes, its sad I took a picture of a toilet, but common! look at how you flush it
So I am finally in Sydney.. Actually , I have been for the past few days. I am staying with my friend Ashley from Toronto until she moves out of her place. The weather when I landed was 36 but the rest of the time I have been here it was only been around 18 and overcast and windy.

I landed in Sydney on the 31st, which was Halloween. Ashley was having a party that night so I got to meet some of her friends, which were all very nice. It was much better then arriving in a hostel, thats for sure

On my second day here I went to my first rugby game, which was Fiji vs France for the world cup. It was a little cold, but a blast. There are two different types of rugby, union and legue. I don't know the exact difference but union is suppose to be the better of the two.
Although its still new to me, I can see myself getting into rugby since it is pretty fast and HUGE over here. The trip to the stadium took us two hours by train to get to a outskirt citie where it
dijridoodijridoodijridoo

he was playing this to techno music, something tells me this is not how the natives played it
was being held, it was a nice way to get to see some of Australia.


Yesterday the weather was nice so Ashley and I took advantage of the day and went on a long walking tour of the city which lasted about 5 hours (with beer stops, of course). I was able to check out the Harbour bridge and the opera house, which was very impressive. Apparently they have walking tours that go over the top part of the bridge, which would be pretty cool to do, but not sure if its worth the price.

There are some differences I have noticed on this side of the world:

-People drive on the left side of the road

-The toilets do not flush backwards like the Simpsons said they would.. Actually it just all sort of goes straight down

- The toilets have either a half or full flush button, which is pretty strange... but check out the flush button in my pic!

- Power sockets have switches to turn them on/off

- Light switches have the off position up and on position down

- Fridge doors open from the right

- When buying a 24 of beer, in the box contains 4 packs of 6 beers wrapped in plastic

- In Sydney there is no subway, its called 'the train'. And its actually a train. You have to buy a ticket and depending on where you go the price is different, and there are multiple routes where the trains go , even if you start on the same tracks.

- The buses are the same, you pay on the bus (they give change) and you have to keep your recipt to make sure you dont stay on longer then you paid (same with the train)

- Bars/pubs are called hotels. From what Ashley told me most of the are still hotels with bars in the lobby, but they are pretty trendy.

- They like putting food on top of other food. I got a steak and mash, and they put the stake on top of the potatoes, again...wtf!

- And finally, beer is cheep here. It seems like they have lots of deals in bars.. such as 2 4 1 deals and 3 doller beers all night.

I haven't seen or eaten a kangeroo yet, but its something I want to do soon. I will keep you posted.

To anyone who has posted coments, thanks for the replys.. I do get them but I am not sure how to reply to them, but keep the coming.























Advertisement



4th November 2008

Jon, I loved all the detail you gave, especially the differences between us and the down under folks. We are so deprived here with only ONE way to flush. Can you please work on that when you come back. You would love France....... they are a two system flush also!!! Glad you are having a great time. You are a chip off the old block afterall having discovered a love of travel!! Good on ya! XXOO Mom
6th November 2008

The Big Boot
Hey is it true that if you do a small crime all you get is a kick in the ass by some guy with a BIG boot? Simpson episode when Bart gets in trouble in Australia.
6th November 2008

Im not sure, but I have been looking for these big cans of beer that the Simpsons proised... and my chance to win at knifey spooney
30th November 2008

toronto?
I am not from Toronto Jon!! :P
2nd December 2008

Sorry Ash.
Cape Breton, sorry. lol

Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb