Suprise Suprise!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
December 27th 2005
Published: December 29th 2005
Edit Blog Post

After recovering from Christmas Day in Perth which was truly a wonderful day if not a bit weird. I mean sat out in the sun on christmas day - Its not what I'm use too but I have to conceede its the way forward people, I'm telling you! The only thing I don't get is these big sunnies all the women seem to be wearing. They look like they've got two 32inch tv screens on the face. Come on is this really fashion ? Just because Posh Spice wears them doesn't mean it's right!

Anyhow I now find myself in Sydney which is an amazing city, there is so much going on here. For those of you at home you probably also know that Pete (aka Lobber) has been travelling Aus for the last 10months with his Girlfriend Aimie and they just happens to be in Sydney for New Year - Coincednce? I think not, this is something me and his Girlfriend have planned since day one of them leaving and has been kept a secret since then (Thanks to everyone for not saying anything)

After arriving in Sydney I dropped and my gear off and headed down to the Quay, Aimie had text me earlier to say where they would be. As I got close I rang them and Pete started to tell me what he was up to and started to describe the view in front of him. The Harbour Bridge, what Pete didn't realise was that by now I was stood right behind him! I think when I asked him to stop harping on and get the beers in something clicked in his head and he turned round and then............... Silence. For those of you that know Pete, being quiet is not something he normally does! I can't describe the look on his face, he doesn't know what to say so I think the suprise had the desired effect!!

We spend the rest of the evening catching up, I've been in touch with Pete and Aimie while they've been away but hearing their stories and about their experiences face to face is so much better. We arrange to meet the next day.... Pete tells me that if I'm there then he'll know he hasn't been dreaming!

The next day we head down to the Oprea House for a bit of a Tour. Did you know that it has 1,056,006 tiles on the roof. You know thats going to come up in a quiz one day. The place is a fantastic bit of Engineering. We get to go inside both the Concert & Oprea rooms. You can't always do that if they've got shows on.

Aimie and Pete show me where we'll be spending New Years Eve. They've got us tickets for the Garden area at the side of the of the Oprea House a prime view for the fire works on New Year. We have a mooch round Darling Harbour, then Pete and Aimie leave me to my own devices. I watch King Kong at the movies it's only $7.50 (£3) to go so it's a cheap night, shame the movie wasn't much better.

Next Blog - Bondi, Bridge Climb and the Blue Mountains.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb