Crimbo in the Sun!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
December 25th 2005
Published: December 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well what can I say about this place, I see why so many Brits emigrate here. I mean good weather (almost) all year. Clean Golden beaches that stretch for miles and a relaxed atmosphere. The Aussie's have it good and I'm jealous and not afraid to admit it.

I went up to Cottosloe on Friday, GMTV film there each year so people can say hi to the folks back home. Young Megan and her friend managed to get on TV. I however decided to go off exploring. Initial thoughts are the place has nothing to offer over than the beach, which in itself is impressive. But I'm told this place is the place to be seen for the young and trendy - rules me out then! Along the shorefront are a couple of bars, which before long where packed. I find the main area of the town and there is more to this place than I first thought. I have a good mooch around and stop for a drink in a local bar, I ask for a pint of something local and I end up with Becks. Now my Geography wasn't that good back at school (bit like me English) but I thought Becks was from Germany. But hay its cool and refreshing.

On our way back to the house we call in and some friends of Karen and Matt. An Aussie couple who are having a couple of social ones around the table in the Garage. We decide to stay for one and end up leaving about four hours later having finished a bottle of Canadian Club - Not my thing normally but hey they’ve no beer so when in Rome.....

Christmas Eve for me was a chilled out day apart from having to put up Megan's Trampoline, which was like being on the Krypton Factor. I don't get time to finish it all and Myself and Matt end up putting the rest up in the dark - Just hope it stays together as I'm not testing it. For tea they have bought me something special - Skippy or Kangaroo as the rest of you know it and it tastes delicious a bit like sirloin steak.... mmmmm!

Christmas Morning is fun, Megan is overwhelmed with the gifts she's got, but I'm not left out as my Mum has sent me two teabags with the comment have a drink on us Son, soap and some socks - Traditional gifts in my house :-) This afternoon I'm off to a Barbie with some more Aussie Friends of Karen and Matt's. It's weird it doesn't feel like Christmas it 30+ degrees, the sun is shinning and I'm just not use to it!

Well that’s about it from Perth, I'd like to thank the Pottsies again. I don't think they realise how grateful I am to be around friends at Christmas and I've had a wonderful time. I understand why they moved here and although it's been hard on their friends and family they made the right choice.

Well have a wonderful Christmas everyone. Next Stop - Sydney


Advertisement



25th December 2005

Merry Christmas/Mine's a cold one
Cheer up, I spent more Christmas's in Freo than anywhere else. The local freo beer is Redback, the breweries less than an hour out. Tooheys is a good one too. You should be glad the weather's not keeping you stuck inside for Christmas, at the very least. I'm well jealous of you hanging in my home town. Happy Christmas, tom. U jammy sod, i hope u burn in the sun!!! only jokin, just jealous have a wkd time, we're all thinkin of u, lots of love jen. P.s. U ROCK!
26th December 2005

Merry xmas mate

Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb