Quick Update...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
September 14th 2008
Published: September 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Figured I would update everyone (or the very few who actually read this) with my life over the past week or two. Not too much has been happening because, believe it or not, Australian schools actually make you do work!! This week I have an essay test, a presentation, and two papers due! So over the course of the past week, I have tried to lock myself in my room and get stuff done, but I haven't really been productive until today. And right now it's raining cats and dogs, so I really have no incentive to go outside. Yesterday though, wow, it was about 85 and amazingly sunny with a little bit of a breeze. The sun here is SOOO hot because the air is much thinner here than in the States. I feel like I got a little tan on my arms and legs just from sitting outside doing homework for an hour!!

Last week my friend Taizy made dinner for me, he is from the Mauritian Islands (off the southern coast of Africa), and he made some awesome Mauritian food, which basically was like an Indian curry, but it was AMAZING!

Work has been going good, I really like my job and most of the little kids are SO adorable! I got paid on Friday, which was AWESOME 😊

Friday night I went into the city to have dinner with my friend Justin, who works here but is from North Carolina. We went to this really good brewery and had these amazing salads with pumpkin, feta cheese, and strips of delicious lamb! I also had an amazing beer, which turned out to be 9 dollars, so it wasn't that great after all...

This Friday we have Conception Day, which is basically a big huge party all over campus (thrown by the school) to celebrate the day the Uni was founded. So they have 2 big Australian bands coming and it's basically a party similar to tailgating all day. They even cancel classes for the afternoon!! The village where I live is throwing a pre-party for Conception day at 9am called Foreplay, haha, and they are giving us free breakfast! So it should be a really fun day, all the Aussies rave about it. I'm thinking it's going to be a mix of something like the Iowa State Fair and Hawkeye Tailgating... which sounds awesome 😊

Friday also starts my 2 weeks off for mid-semester break!! So excited!! September 25 I am flying up to Brisbane to see my friend Geoff, whom I met through my program, anyways, he goes to school up there and I will be visiting for 4 days. Then, Geoff and I fly to Cairns for 4 days to play in the Great Barrier Reef and do some relaxing/partying. THEN we take a train down the coast to Townsville and then a quick ferry to a place called Magnetic Island. We are staying in a sweet hostel, and we will be able to rent mopeds and go around the small island and check out all the beaches - it looks awesome! So I should come back with a really nice tan because the whole entire trip should be in the 80s 😊 So I will have 11 days of fun, then come back and only have 5 weeks of school left!! HOLY COW! Where has this semester gone!?

I got my hair cut on Friday... no pictures will be shown but I just thought I'd let you all know that it looks like crap (I MISS LINDSEY) and it's super short and makes me look like I am 16 years old 😞 It sucks.

But for good news... my friend from Iowa, Erin, just bought her ticket to come visit me!! She is coming New Years Eve til January 14!! I can't wait!! Her and I traveled to Spain for a long weekend together last summer when in London, so it will be awesome to be reunited with my travel buddy 😊 I hope everyone else is working on their plans to come visit!!

Alright, guess I should get back to my heaps of homework that's sitting here waiting in front of me.
Hope you all had a great weekend and that you saw Iowa beat ISU... HAWKEYE STATE!!!!! woohoo!!
(you have NO idea how much I miss college football!!! if anyone knows a site i can watch it, let me know!)





Advertisement



20th September 2008

MESSAGE
So you think no one reads this cause they don' t leave messages, but I've talked to several people this week, my friends and our family, who are reading this regularly, but not leaving notes. So keep on ...... people are interested in your life there and are reading on a regular basis. ITS AWESOME!! Love you!
21st September 2008

you are read here on Bowen all the time and many have seen your pics. Sounds like a great trip. Be safe love you, mom

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 7; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb