Clash of Civilizations


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
September 4th 2008
Published: September 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

There are some themes and key political terms that overlap with some of my political science classes, and one that has been brought up multiple times this week is Samuel Huntington's "clash of civilzations." This is a theory which basically states people's cultural and religious identities will be the primary cause of conflict (post-Cold War). This theory has obviously been criticized by many theorists, and is just one of the many theories that we have been talking about lately.

In one of my classes today, a Youtube video was shown called "Stop The Clash of Civilizations." I thought it was really thought-provoking, interesting, and overall really well done for a youtube video, so I figured I would post the link for all of you to check out. It's only about 2 minutes long, so I urge everyone to watch it!




Quote of the Day:
"...Peace does not rest in the charters and covenants alone. It lies in the hearts and minds of all people. So let us not rest all our hopes on parchment and on paper, let us strive to build peace, a desire for peace, a willingness to work for peace in the hearts and minds of all of our people. I believe that we can. I believe the problems of human destiny are not beyond the reach of human beings." -- John F. Kennedy

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb