Sensational Sydney!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
December 12th 2005
Published: December 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

From Fraser Island I spent one night in Surfers Paradise (it was all I could stand), two nights in Byron Bay which I loved and then got the overnight Greyhound to Sydney. My first and only venture into overnight travel. It was the oldest bus they could find with a driver who was a miserable so and so, no movie, no music and the wierdest, maddest woman I have come across sat next to me. Not much fun for a 13 hour journey!

Anyway, the last 7 days in Sydney have been amazing. It has been great to revisit some of the places I went to 5 years ago when I came for the Olympics and I fell in love with the city all over again. This time I saw a play at the Opera House, enjoyed a ferry ride to Manly beach and Watsons bay and a guided tour of the Botanical Gardens. The highlight for me was visiting the Shangri-la hotel and sipping cocktails in the Horizon bar with amazing views of Sydney at night.

It has also been wonderful to catch up with friends I have made on my travels and to stay with Val, Caroline and Ness and have some home cooking and a nice place to relax. A wonderful change from all the hostels.

Not long left in Oz now. Off to Canberra tomorrow and then to Melbourne before I head to New Zealand.

Advertisement



22nd December 2005

Merry Christmas
Caroline, Hope you have a fabulous Christmas enjoying the warm weather and beautiful scenery.Looking forward to catching up sometime in 2006 Take Care Sarah

Tot: 0.299s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb