Australia day one!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
July 1st 2008
Published: July 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

So the travel blog is back up and running! I arrived in Sydney yesterday after a long long time on planes and at airports which I survived by watching tiny screen movies and playing a million marathon games of tiny screen tetris...I stayed awake the whole time to avoid jetlag and survived on only plane food for over 24 hours! I couldn't quite believe I was here (and still can't actually!) when my friend Susie picked me up from the airport!
Today, we got the ferry to Manly from Circular Quay, which is between the opera house and bridge. Still amazed to be in Australia, I kept saying "she has an Australian accent! So does he!" whenever I heard anyone around me speaking...and when I got my first glimpse of the opera house between a boat and a ticket office I think I was jumping around and I couldn't stop giggling ( I say "I think" because I'm pretty sure I was in a mild state of shock and I can't remember exactly!) There are a lot of photos of me looking a bit excited which I will put up here! The other thing that amazed me this morning was that it was July here and still June in the UK...weird...
Anyway the ferry to Manly was awesome, you can see the bridge and the opera house and as you get further away you can see more and more of the city. We walked along the beaches and had fish and chips and I bought some sunglasses- even though it's winter here, the sky is perfectly clear and it was pretty warm today. But it's already completely dark and its only 6.15 which feels weird for such a summery day! After we got the ferry back I walked back through the city which was cool, I think it's different to most cities I've seen before because there are very few old buildings so pretty much every building is a skyscraper, so even though I'm quite indifferent about buildings, I was walking around looking up and going wowwwww the whole time! Despite the fact that I was in a daze of amazement and jetlag all day I managed to sort out a bank account and a sim card so it's been a pretty productive day really!
Tomorrow I think we will be going back to the opera house and walking round the Botanic Gardens and probably some other areas of the city. In the next fewdays I should also be going to Bondi Beach, climbing the bridge and going to Susie's dad's house out in the country so I will update you very soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb