Hello from Wet and Windy Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
June 13th 2008
Published: June 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well I have made it to Sydney. It was a bit of a shock stepping out of Sydney airport as it is wet and windy here. I never thought I would say this but I am really missing Thailand where it was 34 degrees. Oh well it is winter and although it is wet and windy it is still 16 degrees which is alot better than our winters at home, roll on September when it will start to get warmer.

As I arrived at 7am I thought I would attempt to stay up all day in order to avoid suffering from jet lag. So after checking in to the hostel I set off will my list of things to do. First stop was ANZ where I opened my Aussie bank account. Second stop was the travellers contact point where a very nice lady helped me to set up a mail address so all my post can be send here and apply for my Australian tax file number so I can work legally.

I was feeling a little bit tired after all this exertion so I popped in to Starbucks to get a coffee and check that my Starbucks card works here (Kevin you will be pleased to know that it does). After my coffee hit I was able to tackle my final task for the day which was getting an Australian mobile. After standing in a queue for 40 minutes at the Vodafone shop I finally was served and am now the proud owner of an Australian mobile. I will send you all my new address and mobile number by email.

I then decided that I had done enough for one day and went back to the hostel and crashed out for 14 hours - I guess I needed the sleep.

Next week I have to tackle getting a job and finding somewhere to live - I'll keep you updated. I also tried to up load some photos of wet and windy Sydney.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0203s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb