Chiang Mai


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » North-West Thailand » Chiang Mai
June 1st 2008
Published: June 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Greating from hot and humid Thailand



Well I made it to Thailand without any mishaps. All my worries about Thai people being unfriendly were completely unnecessary. As you come through immigration at Bangkok airport the signs welcome you to the "land of smiles" and it is true everyone here is so happy and smiles all the time. I think us Brits need to learn a lesson from the Thais and try smiling more.

The weather here couldn't be more different from what I left behind in London. It is 34 degrees with 50-70%!h(MISSING)umidity! My tour guide tells me that June is cooler than April when the temperature can reach 40 degrees, thank god I didn't come then!!!

There are 10 people in our tour group all of them are Australians apart from one other British girl and an American. At least my ears are getting use to hearing an Ozzie accent again.

After a whistle stop tour of the Grand Palace and a trip on a long boat yesterday we got on the overnight train from Bangkok to Chiang Mai. If anyone got on a train for 13 hours at home I would think they were mad but it is completely normal to travel by train here it is even preferred as unlike the buses at least the trains are air conditioned.

The train journey turned out to be a very interesting experience thanks to our lady boy waiter "Natalie"!Natalie's mum didn't like him appearing in shows in Bangkok so he got a job as a waiter on the train. As well as keeping us supplied with drinks and food, he also kept us entertained with celine dion and elton john tunes.

I don't have time to write more at the moment as we are off on a trip to see a hill top temple. We have already seen a couple of temples this morning, but they are all completely different you don't mond going to see more. I will aslo up load some photos when I get back to Bangkok.

Jess




Advertisement



Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb