Graduation Addendum


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
May 17th 2008
Published: May 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Class of '08Class of '08Class of '08

the tower lit in orange with '08 lit up.

University of Texas Commencement Ceremony


17th of May, 2008



So more graduation fun this weekend. On Sunday morning after brunch I got on skype with the ‘rents who were at the UT commencement ceremony on Saturday night. It was very cool. I got to see/listen to Jody Conradt give the commencement speech. Then I got to listen to my favorite part.

All the deans of all the colleges present their degree candidates to the president and provost of the university certifying that they have completed all their requirements to graduate. The deans always say some funny and sometimes even witty things intermixed into the stock standard certifying. For example the dean of the College of Education made a remark to how everyone is where they are because of teachers. The architecture dean made some funny remark about how all his graduates would be designing all the rest of our homes and schools etc. The geosciences dean said that his candidates were the ‘bedrock’ of society. The nursing dean made a crack about how tomorrow all of her graduates have jobs and for all of you who don’t have jobs they can come see the nursing school on
FireworksFireworksFireworks

Here is my not so great screen shot of live fireworks!
Monday for an application. The dean who presented the masters students from all areas said that “not only are they masters in their respective fields but also master of the universe.” I know these aren’t always original but I find them hilarious and a beautiful tradition at UT.

My second favorite part was the fireworks out of the top of the tower. I think it’s such a magnificent site and beautiful. I loved it.

I always said that I started my UT experience on the South Mall at Gone to Texas and I wanted to finish my experience at UT on the South Mall at Graduation. I felt that this would be the perfect book ends to my Uni times at Texas.

Good times had by all! Thanks mom and dad for everything you did for me for the past four years and before. Thank you for making it possible for me to ‘attend’ graduation. Y’all are amazing. I love you!




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb