G'day Mates!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
April 25th 2008
Published: April 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello All from Sydney Australia!

Hope the weather is still nice there because it is absolutely GORGEOUS here! They were warning us of the winter conditions on the plane... a temp of 66F!

I thought I had to start out with a bit of bad news, that I couldn't put and of my pictures online because I brought the total wrong camera cord with me, but it seems like there is a slot on this computer that I can use, however I left my camera upstairs, and going up to get it would waste precious minutes of my $3 internet. So Pictures tomorrow! :D

So first of all, I made it here safely, no travel troubles at all, and we all got our bags and everything. The flight from LA to Sydney was 14 hours long, although I slept through most of it, it was still quite long.

We arrived in Sydney at 6am Friday Morning local time, or about 3pm Thurs. afternoon your guy's time, and so we were 'forced' to stay awake until 10pm to battle jetlag.

So in the morning after breakfast at the Hostel we went on a bus tour of Sydney to help get our bearings, and then we stopped back at the hostel to shower and then we had the afternoon free. So Emily, Jennifer and I set out on a ambitious journey to check out the harbour and the royal botanical gardens. Needless to say, that we walked to the harbour and through the National Maritime Museum and didn't get much further. (Which actually wasn't a real bad thing, it gets really dark here early.. again, winter..)

So basically we just walked around the left half of the city yesterday, and stopped outside the big Cathedral here, which I'll say obviously, is very large indeed. Outside of it was a beautiful park and we sat outside for awhile gazing the fountain and people watching.
We were also approached by a religous guy who handed us pamphlets about his church. He asked us questions. I kept my mouth shut.

I totally forgot to mention that yesterday was ANZAC day! (Aus. New Zealand Army Corps) Which is basically our Memorial day, except people actually care. Everyone in the military was wearing their uniform, and veterans were wearing suits with their medals attached. And they were everywhere in the city! and later, they were all in the pubs.. true story! but it was great to see everyone all dressed up and recognized for their duty. It made me proud, and I don't even live here.

So that's about it. We're living right outside of china town, so the grocery store contains mostly asian ingredients but we managed to smuggle out some PB and bread. Brittany the toilets are fine, plenty of TP.

The hostel here is really nice, there are lots of TV rooms and a HUGE kitchen 😊 and a pool/sauna on the roof.

Sydney is of course a big city, so I'm not thrilled about it, but it's nice sometimes to be in a city. But most of the time, for me at least, it's consuming, so large and crowded. Lots of public trans. here though. so I'm still a happy girl!

I had authentic Fish and chips yesterday on the harbour, and it was delish.

I love how this is just random notes as I remember what happened.. haha

But seriously, I'm running low on internet time, So I'm gonna head off. Today we are headed to a Museum and/or Art Gallery and then I'll be heading to the Royal Botanical Gardens/ Sydney Opera House/ bridge.

And we are actually going to the Opera House tonight too! :D


Much love to you all, I truely wish you were all here with me!

-Kayla





Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb