Sydney!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
February 29th 2008
Published: February 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hunter ValleyHunter ValleyHunter Valley

We went to a wine tasting here
I'm in Sydney!!! After years of dreaming and planning I've finally made it to the city - and it's completely fab.

We set off this morning for our last drive on the coach - it's weird to think I won't be on tour again for a month! Our stop en route today was at the Hunter Valley where we tasted some decidedly yummy wines, visited an English sweet shop that sold Cadbury's Eclairs and other delights, and popped into a chocolate shop for some handmade truffles. I restrained myself and only bought 4! The area was absolutely beautiful and Claire and I walked round the lake and popped into the little church which had the most gorgeous view from the stained glass window. We agreed it would be a lovely location for weddings if you lived nearby.

This afternoon it was on to Sydney where we drove to a little viewpoint by the water where you could see the harbour bridge and opera house. It was so exciting to catch my first glimpse of such iconic buildings from the coach window! We all jumped around like mad things and took loads of photos. The sun came out for us too which I'm so glad about - it would have been rubbish to see Sydney for the first time in the rain.

Our final stop was our accommodation which I'm now all checked in to. The hostel is the winner of the Best Large Hostel in the World award, and it's lovely and clean and bright, with key card access to all the rooms and a launderette on every floor (hurrah!). I've just popped out to buy some food (again it's strange to have to plan my meals again) and have been planning what I'm going to do for the next few days. I can't wait to get out and explore!

Photos of today are attached, and I've also uploaded pics to the previous Byron entry.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

The chapelThe chapel
The chapel

This lovely church had such a beautiful view from the window behind the altar
Sydney Harbour!Sydney Harbour!
Sydney Harbour!

You can see the bridge and the opera house from here
Some of my new friendsSome of my new friends
Some of my new friends

Chloe, Kate, Carole, Helen, Soscha, Jen
My roomies for the last 2 weeksMy roomies for the last 2 weeks
My roomies for the last 2 weeks

Jen, Carole, Soscha and me


Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0677s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb