Circular Quay and surrounds


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
March 1st 2008
Published: March 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

View from Circular Quay WestView from Circular Quay WestView from Circular Quay West

Seeing the bridge and the sparkling water was breathtaking!
I've found an excellent internet cafe round the corner from my hostel, so you lucky people can expect an update almost every day for the next two weeks. Unsubscribe now if you're allergic to photos of bridges and opera houses, because you're going to get an overdose...

I've had a brilliant and very busy first full day in Sydney! My hostel is at the very end of George Street which runs right through Central Sydney to the harbour bridge, so I walked the length of this street this morning which took 45 minutes. My first stop was the Bridge Climb office to make sure I knew where it was for the climb in a few days, and from there I walked back through The Rocks markets to Circular Quay. The Rocks are a fashionable part of town with old buildings, shops and cafes, and at the weekend there are lots of market stalls selling expensive jewellery and pictures to tourists. Needless to say I didn't buy anything.

The moment I reached Circular Quay West was the moment I really fell in love with this beautiful city. On my left, the harbour bridge. On the right, the opera house. In front of me, sparkling blue water and above me a cloudless sky. It was amazingly beautiful and I spent ages just wandering round taking photos and trying to convince myself it was real! Eventually I carried on walking round to the main area of Circular Quay where I bought a smoothie and collected leaflets for all the major cruise companies to compare trips and prices. I read these on the approach to the opera house which is full of people, cafes and life. There were Aboriginal people playing the didgeridoo to a backing beat on the quay, and although it was cheesy it created a real atmosphere which was completed by the masses of happy people all having a good time in the sunshine.

After I'd finished my drink I walked down to the opera house and picked up a What's On leaflet before having a quick look inside the foyer. I have a guided tour booked for Friday so I didn't look around for too long, but I can now say that I've used the toilet in the Sydney Opera House! I'm hoping to see a performance at some point while I'm here which should be amazing.

Next stop was the Botanical Gardens which are right behind the opera house. They're large, quiet and beautiful, and I ate a yummy chicken schnitzel foccacia on a bench near the main lake. I walked round the herb garden and the Chinese garden, and plan to come back tomorrow to see the tropical house and walk up to Mrs Macquarie's Chair which apparently has good views of the city.

I returned to The Rocks next to drop in at the tourist information centre and book a couple of day trips. I'm going to the Blue Mountains on Thursday and Canberra a week on Monday, and because I booked them both with APT (the company that owns Connections who run the big tours I've been on) I got a small discount. Then it was a quick walk back to the quay where I jumped on the cruise that I'd booked earlier in the day. It was just an hour's trip around the harbour, but we had an interesting commentary and a free glass of wine, and once I'd found a seat away from the strong wind it was a lovely way to see some of the further reaches of the harbour in the sunshine.

I caught the train back to my area of the city - they have double decker trains here! You get on and then choose whether to go down or up the stairs. I went up for novelty value and enjoyed zooming through the city amongst the tall buildings.

Tonight I'm meeting up with some of the people from my last tour. We're going to find some food in Darling Harbour and then watch the Mardi Gras parade which is happening this evening. Lots of gay and lesbian people are descending on Sydney to dance through the streets in sparkly costumes - it should be great fun! I'd better go and get ready.


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Public transport Sydney stylePublic transport Sydney style
Public transport Sydney style

These ferries take you to all areas of the harbour
A cruise linerA cruise liner
A cruise liner

This ship had a pool on deck - I wanted to jump on board!
North SydneyNorth Sydney
North Sydney

Looking across the harbour
Walking along the approach to the Opera HouseWalking along the approach to the Opera House
Walking along the approach to the Opera House

This area is buzzing with people and cafes
Royal Botanic GardensRoyal Botanic Gardens
Royal Botanic Gardens

A very old fig tree
City buildings from the gardensCity buildings from the gardens
City buildings from the gardens

These gardens are right behind the opera house
Bats!Bats!
Bats!

These were everywhere in the trees and occasionally flew around
A different angleA different angle
A different angle

The opera house from the gardens
And another angle!And another angle!
And another angle!

This time from the cruise as we sailed past
Central Business DistrictCentral Business District
Central Business District

Again from the cruise


4th March 2008

Sarah - I can't believe you are in Sydney already, it looks awesome, distinctly greener and cleaner than where I am at the moment. Can't wait to see the views from the bridge climb!
5th March 2008

It is indeed amazing! Sadly no photos from the bridge climb as you're not allowed to take anything with you, but I have my official photo to show you when you get back. Hope all is well, I got your email and will attempt to be organised and actually reply soon! xx

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb