Week 4 - Lots of School & Weekend in Sydney!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
January 28th 2008
Published: January 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

If anyone's ever been to a Young Life camp for a week then they know its nice to have at least a day or two to recover from the busy, not-a-lot-of-sleep week! I got about four hours of sleep the last two nights at camp and was hoping to get back and catch up a little...however, I wasn't that lucky! Upon returning, my teacher informed me of the many assignments he was expecting me to make up (in the 4 days that I was home before leaving to Sydney Friday morning), such as visiting 5 museums and writing page summaries on each, watching and summarizing two movies on top of keeping up with the weekly assignments we were now on. That lead to a continuous sleeping schedule of about 4 hrs per night for the week and then an all nighter Wed. night with my friend Sam so we could get everything done before missing class Friday to go to Sydney! Thurs. night, after we'd finally gotten everything done, my friend and I were excited to get a few hours of sleep so we set our alarms for 5am to make our 6:45am flight, went to bed....and then SLEPT thru our
Across the HarbourAcross the HarbourAcross the Harbour

The reflection of the sunset off to the left with the Harbour Bridge and Opera House in the distance!
alarms! She slept thru 4 different alarms and I totally turned mine off in my sleep! I figured after all the mornings of getting up at 3:30am to open at Starbucks I'd have no problem getting up, however my body choose no, haha. So, that was a very expensive little mistake because we had to buy another ticket there which ended up being $180!! Lesson learned: try to get more than 4 hours of sleep every night and just don't pull all nighters -- it's not worth it, especially when you have important places to be!

We landed in Sydney at about 1 and met up with Vanessa, my cousins' exchange student who lived in Chehalis with them all last year and who flew to Sydney to meet up with us for the weekend. We then connected with some friends of Steve Ridgeways: Tim & Helan who live in the Northern suburbs of Sydney and volunteered to let us 3 girls crash at their house for the weekend! Their home was just a 10 minute walk from the train station and a quick 30 min. train ride from downtown Sydney. Friday afternoon we went into the Harbour and saw
Across the HarbourAcross the HarbourAcross the Harbour

Downtown Sydney from across the water!
the Sydney Opera House and the Sydney Harbour Bridge! It was really neat being right next to the Opera House after always just seeing it in pictures. One thing that surprised me was how old looking it is when you get close to it...the pictures we see sure keep it looking nice and "new." We had dinner on the harbour and then took a ferry across to Luna Park, a little theme park with rides where we watched the sunset over the city!

Saturday the 26th was Australia Day, like our 4th of July, so there was all kinds of events going on in town such as free concerts, events in the parks, and a 30 min. firework show in Darling Harbour. After a pancake breakfast we headed to Sydney's famous Bondi Beach where we enjoyed the sun, did some body surfing and rented a boogie board! I reminded myself that they have Shark nets and enjoyed swimming way out in the huge, warm waves! Then we had dinner and spent the evening in Darling Harbour, which is a beautiful part of Sydney where the water comes in and is surrounded by restaurants, clubs, and shops. There was a
Bondi BeachBondi BeachBondi Beach

Busy Bondi Beach on Australia Day!
stage set up in the middle of the water and a 30 min. firework show and TONS of families and people of all ages watching!

Sunday morning we packed up our stuff and said goodbye to the family we stayed with. It was very fun meeting this couple and their 4 young kids (and also nice having somewhere to stay for free)!! Although we didn't see too much of them because we were coming and going, we were so thankful for their generosity and enjoyed talking to them a little bit; they were so sweet! My friend Genesa, who I worked with in the nursery all week at YL camp, came and met us in the Sydney Harbour where we caught a ferry to Sydney's other very popular beach: Manly Beach. It was another hot day and we enjoyed plenty of swimming in the warm ocean and soaking in some sun! There was a bunch of beach volleyball nets set up and I really was wishing I had a volleyball! Bondi & Manly were beautiful beaches and both were packed with people the days we were there because of the Holiday as well as it being the last weekend
Cheers on Australia DayCheers on Australia DayCheers on Australia Day

Vanessa talked me into buying a cocktail, my first drink here, after reminding me that the legal drinking age here is 18 and insisting that it was the "Ozzie thing to do" on Australia Day, Haha...cheers!
before school starts for everyone!

Once we finally made it to Sydney it was a great weekend seeing some of the city's main attractions!! It was really fun spending time with Vanessa in her country after getting to know her back in the states and also meeting up with a new friend from here, Genesa. Now that we are in Week 5 of our program -- our last week of classes here in Melbourne -- I will be keeping really busy until Thursday when classes end and everything is due!! Hopefully then I will have some time to get in touch with some of you before getting ready to enjoy my week off: up North in Cairns relaxing on the ocean by the Great Barrier Reef (Feb. 1st - Feb. 8th)! Cant Wait! :D

Whats new at home!?
Love, Lacey 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Dinner in Darling HarbourDinner in Darling Harbour
Dinner in Darling Harbour

Vanessa, Sam, and I at the nice restaurant we ate at with the Harbour behind us. The walls opened up so you felt kind of outside and could look out across "Darling Harbour" at the other restaurants and watch the night life.
Americans Celebrating Australia DayAmericans Celebrating Australia Day
Americans Celebrating Australia Day

After seeing a few guys with American flags on their stomach's and then Australia gear everywhere else we talked to them for a little bit. They were from LA and here doing a study abroad program through their community colleges as well. They were pretty funny.
The Ice BarThe Ice Bar
The Ice Bar

Sunday morning before going to the beach Vanessa took us to Minus 5, this bar type place on the Harbour where everything is made out of ice! Before 6pm minors can go inside and they serve mock drinks so there was a family with little kids in there with us. You dress up in big coats, gloves, and ugg like boots to keep warm. There is ice sculptures...and lots of ice, it was really cold but pretty neat!
Manly BeachManly Beach
Manly Beach

My friend Genesa and I after swimming in the ocean...Manly Beach behind us.
Surf Life SaversSurf Life Savers
Surf Life Savers

Each beach has Surf Life Savers, people that VOLUNTEER to work on the beach as lifeguards and that check the rip tides everyday and then set up flags where the it is safe to swim between. If you swim outside the flags you could easily get caught in a rip tide and pulled out...Here is a Manly Beach Life Saver and Flag Zone
"Super Loo""Super Loo"
"Super Loo"

Super Loo...the Porta Potties, not me! I found that kind on funny :)
Tim & Helen PicklesTim & Helen Pickles
Tim & Helen Pickles

The couple I stayed with and their youngest daughter...Lucy Joy, quite similar to Lacey Joy!
Customer Service in AustraliaCustomer Service in Australia
Customer Service in Australia

Great Example of service here compared to the states: at 8:40 I walked into the Airport's Food Court and it looked like they were about to close up. I walked up to Krispy Kreme's and the lady told me I couldn't buy anything because they were closed so I asked what time they closed and she said 9...which was still 20 minutes away!! I was so mad as I thought about our 10 minute rule back at work at Starbucks -- we cant even lock our doors until 10 min. after our close time! In the end a guy working there just gave us free donuts they were throwing out because we were starving! That went well with the Nutella I had in my bag because I've been living off Nutella & bread here on the mornings we dont get breakfast at school! Its cheap, easy, and I LOVE IT! :)


28th January 2008

So much fun!
Lacey, I love seeing the pictures and reading the stories of your adventures. I think about you all the time when I look at my phone and it shows me what time it is in Australia! Love ya girl! Talk soon.
29th January 2008

Tim and Helen Pickles
Lacey... So glad you connected up with Tim and Helen! Hope you get back their way again and can meet more of the friends there. Have you been able to meet up with any of the Melbourne friends? lots of love! steve
29th January 2008

Hilarious
I cannot believe you missed your flight!! I love your blogs, keep them coming!!!
29th January 2008

Lacey you look like your having so much fun! i miss you tho so dont just decide you want to live there
1st February 2008

Nutella
Nutella is everywhere here too! We are making a nutella cake for my friends birthday party tonight! You and Vanessa look like twins! have fun :)

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb