Adventures in Sydney (Michael rescues a boat)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
September 19th 2005
Published: September 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

My work here is done. I am finally finished with the vending machines.
I have to mention my day, where I visited 16 machines, 13 of which on foot (they were all in the CBD). It was kinda like orientering, with vending machines!
I have had afew days in Sydney, although I am getting itchy feet to get going. It is probably good for me to be still for a while. I've done a bit of reading, and should really do some more on the places that I will be going to next.

The other day I did abit of a walkabout around Sydney. I walked across the Habour Bridge (in Sydney the bridge is open to foot traffic - how cool is that) then I wandered round the north shores of sydney. It's surprise how similar the geography of Sydney is to auckland, with the habour, and the bridge. Also the stereotypes of where people come. Sydney too has it's shore boys and westies!

As I was walking around a point I saw a small yatch capsize in the habour. Eventually they got upright again. However shortly they were on their size drifting towards to rocks. I called the water police as a scrambled do the cliff to help. I helped them keep their boat off the rocks, then untangle everything, including the mast, which had buckled at the bottom. They eventually got towed back by the police launch, an I had to explain why my jeans were wet up to the thigh to the people on my ferry back to sydney!



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Me and a RobotMe and a Robot
Me and a Robot

Danger! Arms are flailing!!!
Anyone lost a weasel?Anyone lost a weasel?
Anyone lost a weasel?

What's that in my pants!!!
Old City: New CityOld City: New City
Old City: New City

This was a pillar from an old building that was put in the habour. Rather confusing in a kinda Ozymandaus way, until I found the plaque which described it.
The Habour BridgeThe Habour Bridge
The Habour Bridge

Australians do like their barbed wire!
Spinning art thingSpinning art thing
Spinning art thing

This was a fabric piece which was spun, giving it the effect like a spinning dress. Very cool. (Museum of Contemporary Arts)
Art InstallationArt Installation
Art Installation

This was really cool. You sat in a chair and it measured your breathing and your heart beat, then generated sounds and projected images on the screen!
Neon art thingNeon art thing
Neon art thing

(Museum of Contemporary Arts)


20th September 2005

Of weasles, possums and boats
Great to read your news. Wondered briefly how it would have been if you had rescued the weasle instead of the boat....
20th September 2005

Great photos and Sydney Adventure
So the police didnt offer you a trip back across the Harbour? Will enjoy reading your next report.
25th September 2005

things
I must say, for an articulate kinda guy your descriptions of the art works you saw were kinda lacking. I mean, honestly, "neon art thing"? missin ya, im sure your having a blast, xoxo cousie em

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb