Some Surfin' & Turfin'


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
September 13th 2005
Published: September 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

G’day everybody! Everything is fantastic here in Manly. Elizabeth & Julia just finished unpacking and we are all here in our happy abode! It’s actually not quite as cramped as I first thought it would be and I think we’re all handling the 5 girls/1 bathroom situation pretty well haha! Today was a great day for everyone. Elizabeth went to an interview and got a job! She’s going to be working with Mary Neill, so that’s really exciting!
We made our first purchase for the apartment, a DVD player! It doesn’t sound too exciting, but with 4 channels and Australian tv, it is very exciting. We’ve already watched several episodes of my Friends dvds, so most of you know how happy that makes me! We even went to a Target here to get the DVD player; gosh, it felt like home!
I took my third surfing lesson today and it was for sure the best one yet! There was just one other girl in the class, so I definitely learned a lot more. I got up about 8 times out of 12 and by the end was even catching my own waves without the instructor’s help. I was very excited! After me and Lyndsey’s beating last Thursday, it felt good to get out there and not get thrown around haha!
Julia, Lyndsey and I reported to training today at Ribs ‘n Rumps at 5:30 p.m. very excited, but a little nervous as well. However, everything went great! Julia & Lynds caught on to everything really quick and by the end of the night we had all taken several food orders, which was really exciting! We were a little nervous at first because they’re not hiring everyone that they are training, but they told us that they really like us and asked us how many hours we’re wanting, so it definitely sounds positive! Who can resist three southern gals anyway, haha!! Also, our most important question was answered. Ever since I started working there, I’ve been drooling over the food. It looks amazing! Lynds asked the head waiter if we get a discount? Best answer ever: every shift we work, we’re entitled to a free meal! Can you believe it? I couldn’t! Lynds and Julia got let off early, but I stayed a little later. You better believe I took advantage of that! Had me a nice, juicy & delicious steak! It was amazing! I now for sure look forward to every shift I’m working! Haha, well that’s about it for today. All of my fellow roommates have of course gone to bed, being that they have followed the ‘in bed before 10’ pattern the entire week. I’m too excited watching Friends to go to sleep, haha jk!



Advertisement



14th September 2005

Take more pictures!
17th September 2005

manly hospital
I am planning to work in manly hospital in jan 2006 and am wondering what it is like. I live in calgary, alberta and can't wait to spend my winter there. my email address is rndoreen@shaw.ca

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0691s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb