My heart is with you back in Israel now!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
August 18th 2005
Published: August 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Those are not easy days now in Israel, with the withdrawal from Gaza and the removal of the settlers. It’s on the news here all the time. I don’t watch TV so much, but I read the Israeli websites, something I didn’t do much since I was travelling.
Everybody knows what’s going on. Whenever I say I am from Israel I get sympathetic comments. Of course in the Jewish museum I met some religious people that support the settlers and were mad at Sharon, saying “he sent them there”. I told them sometime people make mistakes and they have to correct them. I don’t think I convinced them though.
Most people that I meet think we’re doing the right thing, but they sympathise with the agony of the people that need to leave their homes. Sometimes I have to explain the situation because people can't understand who's fighting against who.
It’s good to be in the news not for bombs and suicide terrorists, for a change, but I am still longing for the day that we’ll be in the news here just to tell about some great invention or an Israeli Nobel prize winner, for literature or medicine.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0649s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb