It's not bad at all to be back in Sydney!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
August 17th 2005
Published: August 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The first time I arrived to Sydney was almost 4 months ago - 18/4. It’s hard to believe it’s been already 4 months! The time went by so quickly, it seems like yesterday, but I have done and experienced so many things, so it must have taken some time.
On my first days here back then I felt a bit lonely, I was intimidated and confused. I had to plan a trip in this vast country - the mission seemed impossible. Of course my mood changed after a few days but I remember this feeling in the beginning . It’s so different this time. I feel like coming back home.
On my first day here I just walked around the city centre, feeling nice to identify and remember places. In the evening I met Hila - the Israeli girl I met in Wellington and then in Darwin and then in Melbourne. It’s nice to have friends everywhere.
Wednesday was a lot more of a typical tourist day. Finally I got to do what I somehow managed to miss back in April - go up the Sydney Tower. I had a lunch at the revolving restaurant there, with boasts superb views of the city around. Surprisingly, the food wasn’t that bad either, even though it was a buffet. I ate so much I could hardly do anything afterwards, but I decided to visit the Sydney Jewish Museum. It’s another place that was on my list in April, and I even went there, forgetting that in the Diaspora they have 2 days for Passover, and that was the 2nd day so it was closed. I went there to learn a bit about the history of the Jewish community in Australia, but I discovered that this part of the museum was pretty small. The main emphasis is the Shoah exhibition. They have a pretty good museum for that, I must say. It’s not really aimed for Israelies, they didn’t really tell me new things, but I think it’s good that they have something like that here and people can learn about what happened.
To change the atmosphere after that I went to Bondi Beach, a lovely beach in the eastern suburbs of Sydney. Well it is very famous, and was very busy in the summer, but it’s really nice now in the winter. I think I’m going to move here in a few days and end my vacation in Australia in the proper way - lying on the beach.

I love Sydney!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 19; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0885s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb