Hopping around Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
May 24th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

G'day from Down Under!
I finally touched down in Sydney after 38 hours travelling, of which about 23 hours flight.
The city of Sydney is very spread out, but I figure they have plenty of space.
I spent around 10 days or so in Sydney, taking time to enjoy the city. Well, I'm on holiday.
So got to know the place quite well, at least the touristy places.
Here are some pictures.
No worries.
Oli



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Harriet and her husband DanielHarriet and her husband Daniel
Harriet and her husband Daniel

I got to know Harriet 4 years ago while we were both on an exchange at the Phillips Universität in Marburg, Germany. They wed just over a month ago; it's a pity I couldn't be there at that time... It was very nice to see her anyway.
Paddy's Market in ChinatownPaddy's Market in Chinatown
Paddy's Market in Chinatown

Sydney has a thriving Asian community. I've never seen so many Asian people outside of Asia, and they are not just inside Chinatown. My youth hostel was right next to Chinatown and I took full advantage of this, enjoying eating out at Japanese, Vietnamese, Thai, Korean and the odd Chinese restaurants. It's cheap, good, plenty and healthy!
QVB Queen Victoria BuildingQVB Queen Victoria Building
QVB Queen Victoria Building

It's a sumptuous shopping centre dating back to the Victorian period. I just happened to bump into it at night when all the shops were already closed. I had it all to myself, or nearly.
Notice I've been to the hairdresser?Notice I've been to the hairdresser?
Notice I've been to the hairdresser?

I said I wouldn't go until I was in Australia. That's it done!
Sydney Harbour Bridge aka the CoathangerSydney Harbour Bridge aka the Coathanger
Sydney Harbour Bridge aka the Coathanger

I just love this bridge. I don't know why.
ManlyManly
Manly

It's a nice ferry trip to Manly from Sydney. I had some fish'n chips by the seaside that day.
Sydney AquariumSydney Aquarium
Sydney Aquarium

Walking through a glass tunnel.
Having fun in the HarbourHaving fun in the Harbour
Having fun in the Harbour

On Clark Island, part of the Sydney Harbour National Park.
Soon it'll be a surf thru!Soon it'll be a surf thru!
Soon it'll be a surf thru!

Snacking on Bondi Beach.
Scenic walk from Bondi Beach to Bronte BeachScenic walk from Bondi Beach to Bronte Beach
Scenic walk from Bondi Beach to Bronte Beach

Lots of locals enjoy going for a jog along this path, up the cliffs and down to the beaches, or simply stroll along, and I can understand why.
The city at nightfallThe city at nightfall
The city at nightfall

Seen from Kirribilli Point.
Ben and his sister AliciaBen and his sister Alicia
Ben and his sister Alicia

Didn't know there was a game on until I saw more and more people with rugby shirts on. And so it was Wallabies 29-23 Wales. They told me it was a great game with a last minute winning try (that's maybe why...). We met up with many more of their friends and headed off for a long night's celebration. Was a very short night's sleep as I had to get up early to go to the Blue Mountains.


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb