Sydney and Alice


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
July 6th 2005
Published: July 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Opera HouseOpera HouseOpera House

View from ferry to zoo.
So, I've made it to the other side of the world... The flight over was fine (except for the women in front of me who (obnoxiously) put her chair all the way back for the flight), and I didn't end up being jet lagged at all. My favorite channel on the plane was the one where they show the plane location on a map, plane speed, distance to deistnation and distance from origin (who knew Hawaii was so close to the dateline). Anyway, in Sydney I met up with Jo and Graeme. It rained three out of the four days, but we still mangaged to do a bunch of things...we went to the zoo, went to Manly Beach, went to Bondi Beach (twice, once in the rain once in the sun), walked around the Rocks and Opera House area, and climbed the Harbor Bridge Pylon... After leaving Jo and Graeme, I went off to the Red Centre (it really is red out there). I flew from Sydney to Alice Springs. I spent the afternoon in Alice, but found there was not much to do (though I did get an excellent dinner at the Red Ocre Grill). The next morning I was
Rainbow in HarborRainbow in HarborRainbow in Harbor

Rainbow...the only good product from the rain
off bright and early for my 3 1/2 day hiking and camping adventure... we hiked through Kings Canyon, the Olgas and Uluru. We also watched the Uluru sunset (it changes funky colors) and got up bright and early for the sunrise. It was really nice out during the day and very cold at night (the coldest night it got to 36 F). It was fun, though. After that I flew from Alice Springs to Cairns (in the northeast...lots of reef and rainforest in this area) and met up with Jo and Graeme. I've attached some pictures below... it takes awhile to load them onto the computer, so there's are representative ones.... I'll post again when I can with pictures from Cairns and the east coast.... I hope all is well back in the States! Jamie


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Koala at the zooKoala at the zoo
Koala at the zoo

Jamie, Jo and Graeme with a Koala
koalakoala
koala

cute koala
sun!sun!
sun!

The harbor bridge with ferry
ManlyManly
Manly

Jo and Graeme at Manly Beach
BondiBondi
Bondi

Bondi...the second time around
Rainbow ValleyRainbow Valley
Rainbow Valley

On the way to Uluru
Kings CanyonKings Canyon
Kings Canyon

Picture I took while hiking...
UluruUluru
Uluru

Uluru at sunset (one of a series)
SunriseSunrise
Sunrise

Sunrise at the Olgas...Uluru is on the right, Sun to the left
OlgasOlgas
Olgas

Picture taken while hiking in the Olgas
CampsiteCampsite
Campsite

Jamie at the campsite


9th July 2005

Hello!
Hi Jamie Loving the photos - strange, some seem quite familiar to me!!
9th July 2005

Fantastic Photos
Jamie, it looks like you're having a great time. Say hi to Jo for me if you see her again, and enjoy the rest of your trip! Can't wait for another update.

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb