aussie aussie aussie oi oi oi!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
January 15th 2007
Published: January 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So...im sat here at my desk and I have to say its hard work being a receptionist!!!yup...i have had to buzz in at least 3 people to the building and the rush looks set to continue.. ok so I am now working (albeit not hard) in Sydney, just doing odd days here and there for agencies as nothing permanent has come up yet. Although my bank balance is hoping it does as its pretty expensive living here!! So...I got here a few days before NY eve and Lex and I went to stay with her Godmother's son called Sam, who is 30 and lives in Clovelly right in between Bondi and Coogee in a gorgeous apartment.

The first thing I did was head straight to the harbour to look at the opera house (not as big as i imagined) and the harbour bridge. I was pretty impressed and did the obligatory tourist thing of taking a million photos that all look the same. Four our first night in Sydney Lex and I were taken out by Sam and his mate Pete to a bar called Hemisphere. And it was amazing!! I mean, this plaxce had a 6 month waiting list just to get in!! Turns out that Sam and Pete are part of the uber rich club (they are barristers and soon to be MP's) so me and Lex sat there knocking back the champagne (bearing in mind i was rather unfortunately still wearing my flipflops...oh the tradegy as i sat next to women head to toe in chanel and gucci). Anyway, good thing we were drunk as when the bill turned up i nearly fell off my seat.

New Years eve was spent with Will and Adey (2 guys i worked with at barclaycard), in a somewhat dodgy club (!!!) with lots of interesting people (hmm) with a pay on the door as much as you can drink thing. Cue me and lex drinking most of the bar dry..needless to say my memories of that night are blurry at best, with vague recollections of fireworks!! So I said farewell to Lex on the 1st as she flew back to the UK, felt pretty weird as then I was left to fend for myself and get myself sorted in this big city! Sam kindly offered me his spare room for the rest of the week (thank god...after NY eve i was in no fit state to look for a hostel anytime soon) so the week was spent signing up to agencies, walking on the beaches and going to the pub with Sam.

So i am now living in a hostel in a suburb called Glebe which is pretty cool. Its quite bohemian, with lots of cool shops and fab markets at the wk ends. Moving into the hostel was ok, after a week at Sam's I was a little worried about how it would be but its actually really cool. There are four of us in the room in bunk beds, with tv, internet, ensuite and mini kitchen. My room mates are really nice, if not a little scary at first!! two of them (rae and mandy) live there permanently and can be described as butch lesbians...when i moved in for the first few days i was thinking oh my god what is going on here!! but they are funny and we have a good laugh together, with them showing me pictures of their girlfriends and telling me about the good gay bars to go to...hmmm...the thrid roomy is called glenda, an italian girl who is lovely and who shares my pain at having to find work when really we would rather be on the beach. the best thing about sydney is that the beach is 20 mins away and it feels like being on holiday permanently even though im working too! I met Will and Adey last wkend and we had a bbq on the beach before lying back, putting the tunes on and drinking beer...great 😊

It feels just like being back at Uni, eating pasta every night and meeting new people everyday, cooking together and chatting on the rooftop garden, but with the added bonus of being able to pop to the beach to top up my tan and swim!! Apart from at Uni I dont think we had cockroaches in our room. I wonder how it is possible for our room to have been visited twice by an exterminator and there still to be cockroaches everywhere???!! so i wake up with them in my bed, on my face, running up my legs. It may sound like hell but actually I have a pretty good aim with the bug spray now and i think its just a part of being in a hot country....or so I keep trying to tell myself.

I have another 5 weeks until Craig gets here..in which time I am hoping to save as many pennies as possible and take in as many sights as possible (including going to the blue mountains) before I fly back up to brisbane to meet him to embark upon our tour up to the barrier reef and then to western australia to hire a camper van and visit ningaloo reef - supposedly one of the best dive sights that oz has to offer.

So thats all my news really!Hope ur all ok back home, miss u all lots!!

Love A xxxxxx



Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.058s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0281s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb