Gday from Down Under


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
December 28th 2006
Published: December 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I have been in Oz for a month now and it has flown by! I have so much to tell you but I will try and keep it short and sweet and relatively interesting!!

So I arrived after a good flight from Mumbai, and was relived to get there in one piece after making it to Mumbai on the overnight bus from Goa which was yet again crawling with ‘roaches…but I barely cared as I knew I was getting out of there!! I touched down in Brisbane and was met by my cousin Tiff and my Aunt Angie and taken back to Tiff’s lovely flat on the Brisbane River that she shares with her sis Sally. It was nothing short of pure luxury as I stepped into the biggest bubble bath ever (there is a lot to be said for hot water you know) and washed all my clothes for the first time since leaving the UK. It was pretty strange to be in such clean surroundings and away from the hustle of India but without a doubt I was glad to be there!

My first few days in Brisbane were spent exploring the city, which is really cool with skyscrapers and all seemed very shiny and cosmopolitan in comparison to what I had seen in India. Tiff and Sal live a few minutes walk from the City cat stop on the river which is like a big speedboat that is a kind of water taxi that picks people up and drops them off at various parts of the river so I went in each day on that enjoying the gorgeous sunshine and people watching.

After a few days in Brisbane I decided a road trip was in order as I was dying to see some beaches and check out the surf!! So off I headed to Byron Bay- supposedly the hippy centre of Oz but nothing compared to India! Anyway I got the bus there on my own and booked into a hostel full of backpackers and it was good to meet some new people, and see what Byron had to offer. I met some guys on my first day there who were really nice and we spent our time eating (anything but curry obviously) and going to the beach to chill out, cycling to the lighthouse (actually not a good idea on 40degree heat, nearly died as Chris-a professional mountianbiker-rode on ahead with me lagging behind!!) and I had my first surf lesson!! It was wicked; I even stood up and was catching my own waves by the end of it. So needless to say I am a converted sea baby and can’t wait to get my own board!! By far one of the best points of my trip so far, I loved it!

After Byron Bay I headed back to Brisbane in time to meet Dad who was over with work and we went to a conference dinner at the Hilton and drank copious amounts of wine and giggled at the people trying to dance (trying being the word there!!), but it was great to see Dad again, and the following day we got the bus to Toowoomba about an hour west of Brisbane to see my rellies who live there. It was great to see them again before heading back to Brisbane to meet Lex and stay at her Uncle’s beach house in Marcus beach for the night before heading to our amazing apartment in Mooloolaba, complete with beach views and marble floors…..my jaw dropped as we walked through the door! It was fab to see Lex again and the week in Mooloolaba was so funny, if not a little blurry around the edges….with war wounds to prove it as well as Lex managed to break her toe on a rather messy night out!! After our week there we flew to Adelaide for a week where I got to meet her family and friends. We went bowling with all her cousins and swimming, shopping etc. We did so much and saw so much, and I had a great time meeting her old school mates who were so welcoming to me, and who I got on really well with. Adelaide is set in much greener and hillier surroundings than Brisbane and is surrounded by vineyards. We went to a couple of true blue aussie BBQ’s up in the hills that surround Adelaide where I saw wild koala’s, and tried a kangaroo steak-yummy. We also took a day trip to Port Augusta to see one of lex’s old school mates. It was a 3 hour drive, and once we left the city there really is NOTHING!! Just baron outback for miles and miles and miles…..and one long straight road to drive down. I have never seen that much open space before. So the week went by really fast, and the last night was spent sipping cocktails before going out to some clubs to experience some aussie nightlife. I have to say I don’t really remember much at all after the third cocktail….but the photos look as if we all had fun!!!

After that I flew back to Brisbane for a chance to relax for xmas with my family in Toowoomba and enjoy what I thought was going to be my first hot xmas….how wrong was I!!!it rained and was pretty cold the whole time, but I guess better luck next time!!!Had a lovely time though being with my family and seeing everyone again. You may have had a chance to see the email I sent you all as I am now famous over here….oh yes I got interviewed for the local newspaper-picture and all!!! We came back from Toowoomba on Boxing day to see my other rellies who live in Brisbane and spent our time eating and playing board games before heading back to tiff and sal’s flat which is where I am now! Santa did manage to find his way to Oz so I was a happy bunny anyway!

So this has gone on for a bit but that’s basically it in a nutshell!! I could really go on, but won’t as you will probably fall asleep!! But Oz is fab, I really love it. The lifestyle over here is a lot healthier, and I love the fact that the beach is never far away! I am heading off to Sydney tomo for 7 weeks working and living in a hostel (with views of the opera house no less!), and of course celebrating NY eve in style with Lex before she heads back to the uk on the 1st. So I will wish you all a happy NY, have a good one whatever you’re up to and I will be in touch in the New Year!!

Lots of love Axxx

p.s pics added for goa and oz x x


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb