Christmas and New Year


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
December 22nd 2006
Published: January 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Left Melbourne and got the overnight bus with Clare to Sydney. Looking forward to seeing the NZ gang again! I can't book into my hostel until later on as we got into Sydney about 7. So we go to a cafe in Kingcross (near to my hostel). So tired, and just a really surreal bunch of people there, a group of elderly people, a prostitute, drunk people and a few people going to work.

A few people want to sit by us, in the end it causes a big argument between some people, while Clare and me just sit there wanting to sleep.

Anyway manage to book into the hostel - Blue Parrot, which is a sweet hostel but definetly not worth how much I am having to pay to stay there!

Meet up with Kelly and go back to hostel where I manage to twist my ankle (and I hadn't drank that much)! The curse of that bloody Kiwi Bus is just following us! Anyway manage to hobble up to bed, where it really starts to hurt!
Following day I can hardly walk on it, and its really swallon so I go to casulaty, Kel kindly joins me. Where I have X-Rays, but nothing is broken, so am given crutches etc.

Me, Kel, Jo and Matt go to the Opera House later on for the Christmas Carol's Concert. Really good fun, although as I am slow on my crutches, so Kel get's a wheelchair to push me around in, which meant that we got a guided tour back stage, and rather embarrisingly Kel takes a picture of me, in my wheelchair with Santa!
The concert was good fun, and the audience gets to sing some carol's as well, plus us girls get a bit of crush on the narrator guy! We also learn a OZ Christmas song about a Kangaroo.

On Christmas Day, Kel and Jo had managed to get the use of an empty room in there hostel, and surprise me with it fully decorated. Have a great day, crackers, my flashing christmas tree, weird hats and a hell of a lot of booze!! We have our party tunes on in the background, play charades and other silly games, and try and ring family and friends before we get too drunk. In the end we feel too guilty for having the party room to ourselves so invite some other people, at which point the reception found out, so we were chucked out and had to carry on the party downstairs, at which point it just got more and more stupid......

Between Christmas and New Year, my little sweetheart Kelly / gun - Sh*thead partner leaves me to go to China! We have an goodbye dinner and say our farewells, really sad but I know I will see her again, maybe in Asia or back home.

New Years Eve, meet up with Karen and her parents and her friend Em that have come over from Scotland. Watch the fireworks (which were fantastic!!!!) and count 2007 in a hotel overlooking the Opera House and Harbour. Although must have drunk a bit to much- as I got a little sick - very very embarrasing.

Have a meal aroung Darling Harbour on New Years Day. On the following day I went to Palm Beach where Home and Away is filmed, so got my photo took against Summer Bay's Surf Club!

In the evening I meet up with Jo and loads of the guys of the NZ bus, have a good last night in Sydney before leaving to head up the East Coast! Sad saying goodbye and weird actually travelling on my own again, after being with mates since the beg of October!! Although hopefully will get a chance to see some of the again! Ended up having a little boogy as well, which probably isn't the best idea when I have a twisted ankle.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb