And I'm in Oz!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
December 6th 2006
Published: December 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Quack! We just crossed the Pacific Ocean!Quack! We just crossed the Pacific Ocean!Quack! We just crossed the Pacific Ocean!

And check out that strange white building!
So after a rush to the airport in Denver (which I still think is one of the most architecturally interesting airports with its tent-style roof), I was back on the plane to LAX. After some confusion over checking in at the Qantas desk (at first they didn't have confirmation that I indeed had a visa to travel to Australia), I boarded the plane to Sydney. Stuck in a middle seat with bad circulation for 13 hours is not fun. I hope I get an aisle seat next time!

So I arrived in Sydney surprisingly not too jetlaged, despite the fact that Tuesday, December 5th never existed. Just poof, gone, as we crossed the date line. If you lose time going west in North America, how is it that you fast forward and jump a day into the future when you cross the date line? I'm so confused.

Anyways, so after getting a free shuttle to my hostel, which I picked based on a friend's blog, I showered the 17 or so hours of transit off and went for lunch with my roommates who are from England. One of the girls decided to forget about beating jetlag and went back
The CoathangerThe CoathangerThe Coathanger

The Harbour Bridge.
to bed after lunch, so the other girl and I walked around. We saw Darling Harbour, the Coathanger (the Harbour Bridge, but it does look a bit like a coathanger), the Opera House, and walked through the Rocks area (older buildings and cute side streets...I could've sworn I was in some town in southern France!).

General impression thus far: Sydney is an odd blend of European architecture, modern city skyscrapers and people that drive on the wrong side of the street. And walk on the wrong side of the sidewalk. This may take some getting used to. I also am a bit shocked that yesterday I was in snow and today I'm in a skirt. And seeing fake Christmas trees surrounded by summer weather is a bit odd too.

Well, I should go grab a bite to eat..and I will probably turn in early as the jetlag is slowly but surely catching up with me. I have yet to plan what I will do in the following days...but I find myself just not caring. Hopefully I will overcome that soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The Skyline of SydneyThe Skyline of Sydney
The Skyline of Sydney

Taken from the ferry to Manly
Hyde ParkHyde Park
Hyde Park

I couldn't get over the trees in this park!


1st October 2009

hi there
Been going through your blogs (and your website) and have been enjoying them. I'm glad to find something to read on possible trips in and around USA, as well as Montreal. And now, OZ land. You write very clearly and take very good pictures. I will be kept busy in the coming days............catching up with your blogs which I absolutely enjoy. Traveling is absolutely all about keeping an open mind about the places to visit. I, for one, enjoyed all my trips, wherever and everywhere. Like you, I think I bring my "happiness" with me. A gift, don't u think? Others are not as fortunate. [:(]

Tot: 0.473s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 39; qc: 128; dbt: 0.1503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb